Yves Tumor Gets Diabolical in Video for New Single “Gospel for a New Century,” Announces New Album

Music News Yves Tumor
Yves Tumor Gets Diabolical in Video for New Single “Gospel for a New Century,” Announces New Album

Experimental-pop provocateur Yves Tumor announced Tuesday his fourth album Heaven to a Tortured Mind, the follow-up to 2018’s shocking, acclaimed Safe in the Hands of Love. The announcement comes with a new single, “Gospel for a New Century,” Tumor’s first track since the 2019 single “Applaud,” seeing him move from full-length, spiritual genre-defiance to punchy, self-contained pop sounds.

The video for “Gospel for a New Century,” directed by celebrity make-up artist Isamaya Ffrench, is as if Tim Curry’s Lord of Darkness from Legend performed on Soul Train. Complete with facial prosthetics and cloven hooves, Tumor commands a stage and an army of cow-faced dancers with ease.

In a release, Ffrench, who has worked with artists ranging from Björk to Rihanna, said of the collaboration: “Nobody has ever inspired or moved me like Yves Tumor,” continuing, “In short, he’s the shit and i’m so honoured to have made my directorial debut with him as my muse.” Inspired by the works of Federico Fellini, the video perfectly complements the song with thrums with explosive horns and charismatic, devilish vocals. There’s a humor to it all, a cheeky irony to the late-’90s Marilyn Manson effects and coiling, sexy imagery. It’s queer art at its finest, transgressive and kitschy, with a shit-eating grin waiting at the end.

Heaven to a Tortured Mind will be co-produced alongside Yves Tumor by Justin Raisen, who recently co-produced and wrote on Kim Gordon’s excellent No Home Record, and is known as a formative collaborator for Sky Ferreira and Charli XCX’s early careers. Heaven to a Tortured Mind is set for an April 3 release via WARP Records. Check out the video for “Gospel for a New Century,” the details of Heaven to a Tortured Mind and Yves Tumor’s upcoming tour dates below.

Heaven to a Tortured Mind Album Art

Webp.net-resizeimage (5).jpg

Heaven to a Tortured Mind Tracklist:
01. Gospel For A New Century
02. Medicine Burn
03. Identity Trade
04. Kerosene!
05. Hasdallen Lights
06. Romanticist
07. Dream Palette
08. Super Stars
09. Folie Imposée
10. Strawberry Privilege
11. Asteroid Blues
12. A Greater Love

Yves Tumor Tour Dates

03 – Nashville, Tenn. @ Exit/In
04 – New Orleans, La. @ One Eyed Jacks
06 – Houston, Texas @ White Oak Music Hall
07 – Dallas, Texas @ Club Dada
08 – Austin, Texas @ The Parish*
10 – Santa Fe, N.M. @ Meow Wolf*
11 – Phoenix, Ariz. @ The Crescent Ballroom*
13 – Los Angeles, Calif. @ The Fonda*
14 – Santa Ana, Calif. @ Constellation Room*

02 – San Francisco, Calif. @ 1015 Folsom*
04 – Vancouver, B.C. @ Fortune Sound Club*
05 – Seattle, Wash. @ Neumos*
07 – Salt Lake City, Utah @ Urban Lounge*
08 – Denver, Colo. @ Bluebird Theater*
10 – Omaha, Neb. @ The Slowdown*
11 – Minneapolis, Minn. @ Fine Line*
12 – Chicago, Ill. @ Lincoln Hall*
13 – Lakewood, Ohio @ Mahall’s*
14 – Detroit, Mich. @ El Club*
16 – Toronto, Ont. @ The Mod Club*
18 – Motreal, Que. @ L’Astral*
19 – Cambridge, Mass. @ The Sinclair*
20 – Washington, D.C. @ U Street Music Hall*
22 – Raleigh, N.C. @ Kings*
23 – Atlanta, Ga. @ Terminal West*
25 – Mexico City, Mexico @ Ceremonia Festival

01 – Miami, Fla. @ III Points Festival
03 – Philadelphia, Pa. @ Johnny Brendas*
05 – New York City, N.Y. @ Webster Hall*
19 – Dublin, Ireland @ Whelan’s*
20 – London, U.K. @ Electric Brixton*
21 – Paris, France @ Villette Sonique Festival
23 – Amsterdam, Netherlands @ Paradiso Noord*
24 – Copenhagen, Germany @ Vega*
26 – Berlin, Germany @ Gretchen*
27 – Warsaw, Poland @ Hydrozagadka*
30 – Gent, Belgium @ Balzaal Vooruit*

10 – Tren?ín, Slovakia @ Pohoda Festival
11 – Bilbao, Spain @ Bilbao BBK Live
17 – Dour, Belgium @ Dour Festival

Share Tweet Submit Pin