Bill Murray to Receive Mark Twain Prize for Comedy

Comedy News Bill Murray

The White House has seen fit to recognize Bill Murray for being the engagement photo-bombing, ghost-busting good guy we all know and love. The legendary comedic actor will receive the 19th Annual Mark Twain Prize for Humor during the Kennedy Center Honors Ceremony this October.

According to the Kennedy Center website, the Prize “recognizes people who have had an impact on American society in ways similar to the distinguished 19th century novelist and essayist.” Past recipients include Murray’s fellow SNL alums Tina Fey, Will Ferrell, Eddie Murphy and Lorne Michaels. The first recipient was Richard Pryor in 1998.

“I’m honored by this award and by its timing,” Murray said in a statement. “I believe Mark Twain has rolled over in his grave so much for so long, that this news won’t disturb his peace.”

While Murray hasn’t penned anything as vicious as “Man Is the Lowest Animal,” he did offer Paste’s own Josh Jackson a few golden nuggets of wisdom in 2014, which you can read here.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Share Tweet Submit Pin