Two Rare/Unreleased David Bowie Albums Due Out On Record Store Day

Music News david bowie
Two Rare/Unreleased David Bowie Albums Due Out On Record Store Day

Two rare and unreleased David Bowie albums will be unveiled on Record Store Day, April 22—as if you needed even more of an excuse to get down to your local record store.

The first, Cracked Actor (Live in Los Angeles 1974), is the official recording of a live 1974 Philly Dogs Tour show at L.A.’s Universal Amphitheatre. It’s a triple-LP, five-sided album with a sixth side featuring the Diamond Dogs Bowie logo. You can see an image of the set below.

The second release is recreation of a rare 1971 pressing of Bowpromo, which includes alternative versions of some songs that would later appear on Hunky Dory. Originally, there were only 500 copies made of Bowpromo, which were mainly used by Bowie’s manager Tony Defries to try and secure new record deals. The Record Store Day recreation, admittedly not one of the prized 500 copies, will come with the added bonus of five exclusive Bowie prints and new sleeve notes, all in a “special presentation box.”

You can read more about the special releases here, and see the complete tracklists for Cracked Actor and Bowpromo below. Also, don’t miss St. Vincent’s video on her role as Record Store Day Ambassador here, and Paste Cloud audio from a 1987 Bowie show below.


Cracked Actor (Live in Los Angeles 1974) Tracklist:
01. Introduction
02. 1984
03. Rebel Rebel
04. Moonage Daydream
05. Sweet Thing/Candidate/Sweet Thing
06. Changes
07. Suffragette City
08. Aladdin Sane
09. All the Young Dudes
10. Cracked Actor
11. Rock ‘n’ Roll With Me
12. Knock on Wood
13. It’s Gonna Be Me
14. Space Oddity
15. Diamond Dogs
16. Big Brother
17. Time
18. The Jean Genie
19. Rock ‘n’ Roll Suicide
20. John, I’m Only Dancing (Again)

Bowpromo Tracklist:
01. Oh! You Pretty Things
02. Eight Line Poem
03. Kooks
04. It Ain’t Easy
05. Queen Bitch
06. Quicksand
07. Bombers/Andy Warhol Intro

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Share Tweet Submit Pin