J Mascis Previews New Solo Album with His Latest Single, “See You At The Movies”

Music News J Mascis
Share Tweet Submit Pin
J Mascis Previews New Solo Album with His Latest Single, “See You At The Movies”

Tuesday morning, J Mascis of Dinosaur Jr. fame graced our ears with his new single, “See You At The Movies.” Check out his vibrantly raw new track down below.

The song is the first to be released from his forthcoming album Elastic Days, his third full-length solo album for Sub Pop. The album will be Mascis’s first solo release since 2014’s Tied to a Star.

Like his earlier solo work, Elastic Days was recorded at J’s own studio with all his own flair. Showing off his artistry, Mascis does almost all the music-making, with Ken (who also appeared on Tied to a Star) on the keyboard and a few guest vocalists, including Pall Jenkins (Black Heart Procession), Mark Mulcahy (Miracle Legion) and Zoë Randell (Luluc), among others.

“The biggest difference with this record might have to do with the drums,” explains J Mascis, when asked what fans can expect to be divergent from his previous solo albums. “I’d just got a new drum set I was really excited about. I don’t have too many drum outlets at the moment, so I played a lot more drums than I’d originally planned. I just kept playing.”

But Elastic Days promises to have more than a good rhythm: We’re looking forward to unexpected hooks and guitar slides that straddle a broad range of genres. Take a look at the tracklist and cover art down below.

We’ll have to wait until Nov. 9 for the rest of the album, but before its release, J’s new music will be available for preview. To hype up his audiences, Mascis will embark on a 23-date North American run, with Sub Pop labelmates Luluc as support. The tour starts in Vancouver on Nov. 7, then makes its way through Portland, Seattle, San Francisco, Chicago, Toronto, Philadelphia and New York, among others, before ending Dec. 15 in Portland, Maine. Keep scrolling for the full list, but first, listen to “See You At The Movies” and watch a 2011 Mascis performance from the Paste archives.

Elastic Days Tracklist:
01. See You At The Movies
02. Web So Dense
03. I Went Dust
04. Sky Is All We Had
05. Picking Out the Seeds
06. Give It Off
07. Drop Me
08. Cut Stranger
09. Elastic Days
10. Sometimes
11. Wanted You Around
12. Everything She Said

Elastic Days Album Art:


J Mascis Tour Dates:

07 – Vancouver, British Columbia @ Imperial
08 – Portland, Ore. @ Aladdin Theater
09 – Seattle, Wash. @ Tractor
10 – Bellingham, Wash. @ Wild Buffalo
14 – San Francisco, Calif. @ Slim’s
15 – San Diego, Calif. @ Soda Bar
16 – Los Angeles, Calif. @ Lodge Room
17 – Denver, Colo. @ Ophelia’s Electric Soapbox
18 – Fort Collins, Colo. @ Washington’s
20 – Chicago, Ill. @ City Winery
21 – Chicago, Ill. @ City Winery
27 – Atlanta, Ga. @ City Winery
28 – Nashville, Tenn. @ City Winery
29 – Louisville, Ky. @ Zanzabar
30 – Detroit, Mich. @ El Club

01 – Toronto, Ontario @ Great Hall
04 – Philadelphia, Pa. @ World Cafe
05 – Washington, D.C. @ City Winery
07 – Brooklyn, N.Y. @ Rough Trade
08 – New York, N.Y. @ Public Arts
09 – Hamden, Conn. @ Space Ballroom
12 – Providence, R.I. @ The Met
13 – Boston, Mass. @ The Sinclair
14 – Northampton, Mass. @ The Academy of Music
15 – Portland, Maine @ Port City Music Hall