CMT Names 2016 Class of Next Women Of Country

Music News Margo Price
Share Tweet Submit Pin

In 2013, CMT began the Next Women of Country as an initiative to empower up-and-coming female country musicians. Today, the 2016 class of musicians were announced via Rolling Stone Country, and it includes Margo Price, Caitlyn Smith, Jamie Lynn Spears, Jillian Jacqueline, Kree Harrison, Logan Brill, Lucie Silvas, Maggie Rose, and the trios Post Monroe and Runaway June.

Most notable from this list is Price, whom Paste featured as a Best of What’s Next pick back in April. Since the release of Midwest Farmer’s Daughter, Price has been met with much praise while bridging the gap between country and popular music. The closing of this divide has allowed country music to finally receive some much-needed recognition.

Past Next Women of Country inductees include Brandy Clark and Kacey Musgraves, who have also been included as Best of What’s Next picks here at Paste. If past inductees are any indication to the talent and success associated with receiving CMT’s honor, we are bound to hear much more from the class of 2016. Find Paste Cloud audio from Price’s 2015 Daytrotter session below.