Daily Dose: Methyl Ethel, "Scream Whole"

Music Features Methyl Ethel
Share Tweet Submit Pin
Daily Dose: Methyl Ethel, "Scream Whole"

Daily Dose is your daily source for the song you absolutely, positively need to hear every day. Curated by the Paste Music Team.

Perth psych-pop and art-rock trio Methyl Ethel have released their first new single since their sophomore album, Everything Is Forgotten, which dropped via 4AD last year.

“Scream Whole” opens with a glistening keyboard riff, and we’re soon reacquainted with lead vocalist Jake Webb’s peculiar vocal tone and its unmistakable psych-pop sheen. The track builds layers of lively, danceable art-pop with their funky bass line, urgent synths and quirky vocals while adding the vibrant eccentricities and soaring melodies that we’ve come to expect from one of Australia’s most essential current bands.

Their electrifying synth-pop might fool you with its upbeat immediacy, but its lyrics tell a much darker tale. Webb matter-of-factly sets the scene for the spooky dance floor-filler and its accompanying video: “That cold sweat. That swollen throat. That sick feeling bubbling up from your guts.”

After playing with the likes of The Drums, Sunflower Bean and The Lemon Twigs in the States, Methyl Ethel will return to North America next March for several headlining dates.

Watch Methyl Ethel’s video for “Scream Whole” and listen to their Daytrotter Session below. Check out their upcoming North American tour dates further down.

Methyl Ethel Tour Dates:

31 – Sydney, Australia @ Oxford Art Factory

01 – Melbourne, Australia @ Howler

14 – London, U.K. @ Heaven
19 – Los Angeles, Calif. @ The Echo
20 – San Francisco, Calif. @ Cafe Du Nord
22 – Portland, Ore. @ Mississippi Studios
23 – Seattle, Wash. @ Barboza
25 – Chicago, Ill. @ Schubas
27 – Toronto, Ontario @ The Garrison
29 – Brooklyn, N.Y. @ Elsewhere
30 – Washington, D.C. @ DC9