Nick Waterhouse Previews New Self-Titled Album with "Song For Winners"

Music News Nick Waterhouse
Share Tweet Submit Pin
Nick Waterhouse Previews New Self-Titled Album with "Song For Winners"

Los Angeles-based singer-songwriter Nick Waterhouse will release a self-titled album on March 8 via Innovative Leisure. Lead single “Song For Winners” is out now.

Nick Waterhouse, the artist’s fourth album, follows his 2016 LP Never Twice. It features 11 tracks, comprising 10 new Waterhouse originals and a cover of “I Feel An Urge Coming On,” originally written by Waterhouse’s friend and mentor Joshie Jo Armstead, who has previously worked with Ray Charles, and performed as both a Raelette and an Ikette in the ‘60s and ‘70s.

Nick Waterhouse was recorded at the legendary Electro-Vox Recorders in L.A. Waterhouse co-produced alongside Paul Butler (Michael Kiwanuka, St. Paul & The Broken Bones), with backing from friends and session musicians including Bart Davenport, percussionist Andres Renteria (Flying Lotus, Father John Misty), flutist Ricky Washington (Kamasi’s dad), and saxophonists Paula Henderson (Gogol Bordello) and Mando Dorame (JD McPherson).

A press release explains that Waterhouse chose this album as his self-titled because it’s “a deeper reflection of the cultural and emotional firmament that has made [him] the artist he is today: his passions and influences; his love and outrage.” Said release cites all kinds of influences on both Nick Waterhouse and “Song For Winners,” including “The music of Irma Thomas and Chico Hamilton; the films of Robert Siodmak and Adam Curtis. The good old bad days in San Francisco, Detroit and Los Angeles,” and “British poet Percy Bysshe Shelley and Nina Simone,” respectively.

Waterhouse hits the road for a 20+ date spring U.S. headlining tour in support of his forthcoming album, beginning in mid-March. You’ll find his full itinerary below.

Listen to “Song For Winners” and Waterhouse’s 2012 Daytrotter session below, and find the details of Nick Waterhouse and its namesake’s tour dates further down.

Nick Waterhouse Tracklist:
01. By Heart
02. Song For Winners
03. I Feel an Urge Coming On
04. Undedicated
05. Black Glass
06. Wreck the Rod
07. Which Was Writ
08. Man Leaves Town
09. Thought & Act
10. El Viv
11. Wherever She Goes (She Is Wanted)

Nick Waterhouse Album Art:


Nick Waterhouse 2019 Tour Dates:

18 – Manchester, U.K. @ Gorilla
21 – London, U.K. @ 229 The Venue
23 – Brussels, Belgium @ Botanique-Orangerie
24 – Paris, France @ Petit Bain
26 – Hamburg, Germany @ Mojo Club
27 – Berlin, Germany @ Columbia Theatre
28 – Amsterdam, Netherlands @ Het Zonnehuis
30 – Athens, Greece @ Fuzz Live Music Club
31 – Thessaloniki, Greece @ Fix Factory of Sound

25 – Santa Ana, Calif. @ Marty’s on Newport
26 – Los Angeles, Calif. @ Regent
27 – San Francisco, Calif. @ Great American Music Hall
29 – Portland, Ore. @ Mississippi Studios
30 – Seattle, Wash. @ Crocodile

01 – Vancouver, B.C. @ Biltmore Cabaret
03 – Salt Lake City, Utah @ Urban Lounge
04 – Denver, Colo. @ Bluebird
06 – Minneapolis, Minn. @ 7th Street Entry
07 – Chicago, Ill. @ Lincoln Hall
08 – Detroit, Mich. @ Shelter
10 – Toronto, Ont. @ Canadian Music Week
13 – Boston, Mass. @ Brighton Music Hall
14 – New York, N.Y. @ Music Hall of Williamsburg
16 – Philadelphia, Pa. @ Foundry
17 – Washington, D.C. @ Rock & Roll Hotel
18 – Charlottesville, Va. @ The Southern
20 – Atlanta, Ga. @ Terminal West
?21 – New Orleans, La. @ One Eyed Jacks
23 – Houston, Texas @ Bronze Peacock
24 – Austin, Texas @ Parish
25 – Dallas, Texas @ Dada