Pond Announce New Album The Weather, Share New Single/Video

Music News Pond
Share Tweet Submit Pin
Pond Announce New Album <i>The Weather</i>, Share New Single/Video

Australian psychedelic rockers Pond have announced their forthcoming seventh album, The Weather. The band, who spawned from the same Perth-based collective of musicians that birthed Tame Impala, released the album’s first two tracks, “Sweep Me Off My Feet” and “30000 MEGATONS” last year and toured the U.S. in the fall.

The Weather comes as the follow-up to 2015’s (inter)stellar Man It Feels Like Space Again and was produced by Tame Impala’s Kevin Parker, who produced the last three Pond albums.

In a press release for the record, frontman Nicolas Allbrook said:

It’s a concept album, not completely about Perth, but focusing on all the weird contradictory things that make up a lot of colonial cities around the world. Laying out all the dark things underneath the shimmering exterior of cranes, development, money and white privilege. It’s not our place, but it is our place. British, but Australian, but not REAL Australian. On the edge of the world with a hell of a lot of fucked things defining our little city, still we try and live a wholesome respectful life, while being inherently disrespectful. At the end of all this confusion in our weird little white antipodean world, there’s the beach, purity and nature that brings us all together

Pond will be appearing at Coachella and Shaky Knees this spring, along with a handful of European festivals, and they’ve announced plans to “take this record’s ambitious, technicolour odyssey around the world.”

The Weather is due out May 5 via Marathon Artists. See the tracklist and album art below, along with the newly released video for “Sweep Me Off My Feet” and a Paste Cloud cut from Pond’s 2012 Daytrotter session.

The Weather Tracklist:
01. 30,000 Megatons
02. Sweep Me Off My Feet
03. Paint Me Silver
04. Colder Than Ice
05. Edge Of The World Pt. 1
06. A/B
07. Zen Automaton
08. All I Want For Xmas (Is A Tascam 388)
09. Edge of the World Pt. 2
10. The Weather

The Weather Album Art: