Young Fathers Announce New Album Cocoa Sugar, Share Fascinating “In My View” Video

Music News Young Fathers
Young Fathers Announce New Album Cocoa Sugar, Share Fascinating “In My View” Video

Mercury Prize-winning U.K. art-rock trio Young Fathers have at long last shared the details of their new album, Cocoa Sugar. The 12-track LP is due out March 9 via Ninja Tune, and the band now shares its second single, “In My View,” with a mesmerizing music video to match. Cocoa Sugar will be their first album since 2015’s acclaimed White Men Are Black Men Too.

Young Fathers wrote and recorded their new record in their basement studio and HQ throughout 2017. The band announced they had finished the album last fall, releasing an enthralling lead single in “Lord” and saying in a statement, “We’ve just finished a new album, and it’s about fucking time.” Soon after, they shared a majestic music video for the track, starring the band’s own Alloysious Massaquoi.

Massaquoi, Graham “G” Hastings and Kayus Bankole each appear in the group’s “In My View” video, directed by Jack Whiteley. The singular clip begins as a hypnotic examination of the fine lines between intimacy and violation, self-assurance and loneliness, and so on, only to shift gears completely in its third act: A title card that reads “The Art of Making People Care” signals the pulling back of the video’s curtain, revealing all the work that went into grabbing and holding our attention. “I wanna be king until I am,” Hastings sings to end the track, further speaking to the song and video’s dichotomies.

Watch the “In My View” video below (or stream the track here), and keep scrolling for Young Fathers’ 2014 Daytrotter Session and U.K./Euro tour dates, as well as their new album’s tracklist and cover art. You can preorder Cocoa Sugar here.

Cocoa Sugar Tracklist:
01. See How
02. Fee Fi
03. In My View
04. Turn
05. Lord
06. Tremolo
07. Wow
08. Border Girl
09. Holy Ghost
10. Wire
11. Toy
12. Picking You

Cocoa Sugar Album Art:

Young Fathers Cocoa Sugar Art.jpg

Young Fathers Tour Dates:

20 – Birmingham, U.K. @ O2 Institute 2
21 – London, U.K. @ Roundhouse,
22 – Bristol, U.K. @ Trinity Centre (SOLD OUT)
23 – Manchester, U.K. @ O2 Ritz
24 – Glasgow, U.K. @ Barrowland Ballroom (SOLD OUT)
28 – Dublin, U.K. @ Academy

06 – Brussels, Belgium @ AB Box
07 – Amsterdam, Netherlands @ Paradiso Noord
09 – Berlin, Germany @ Columbia Theatre
10 – Prague, Czech Republic @ MeetFactory o.p.s
11 – Zurich, Switzerland @ Rote Fabrik
12 – Paris, France @ La Badaboum

15 – St Austell, U.K. @ The Eden Project (with Massive Attack)
16 – St Austell, U.K. @ The Eden Project (with Massive Attack)

Share Tweet Submit Pin