Indie-Folk Band Daughter Teams With Square Enix for Life is Strange: Before the Storm Score

Games News life is strange
Indie-Folk Band Daughter Teams With Square Enix for Life is Strange: Before the Storm Score

London-based indie-folk band Daughter is the name behind the Life Is Strange: Before the Storm score, and you can listen to one of the songs from the game right now. Hit up the video below to get a sneak peek at the score via single “Burn it Down.”

The game’s original score will be released as a standalone Daughter album titled Music from Before the Storm, available via Glassnote Records/4AD on Sept. 1 and featuring 13 different tracks. You’ll find the tracklist and album art at the bottom of this post.

Daughter is led by singer Elena Tonra, alongside Igor Haefeli and Remi Aguilella. The trio started in 2010 and have since traveled the world, with a couple critically acclaimed and award-winning albums under their collective belt. Their debut album If You Leave not only went silver, but also hit the Top 20 in the U.K. In 2016, Not To Disappear also netted them critical acclaim.

This year, Daughter will be hitting the road for a world tour, opening for their labelmates The National in the U.S. in October.

“We are so proud to have written the soundtrack for Life Is Strange: Before the Storm,” said Tonra in a statement. “It was our first experience working on an original soundtrack, and are so honoured to have been given the opportunity to work with the team. We loved the story on first read as it centres around realistic female lead characters who are emotional, intelligent, sensitive and badass in equal measure. I think the characters themselves have really inspired the soundscapes we have created. It was a pleasure to be involved.”

Listen to “Burn It Down” and see Music from Before the Storm’s tracklist and album art below.

Music from Before the Storm Tracklist:
01. Glass
02. Burn It Down
03. Flaws
04. Hope
05. The Right Way Around
06. Witches
07. Departure
08. All I Wanted
09. I Can’t Live Here Anymore
10. Dreams Of William
11. Improve
12. Voices
13. A Hole In The Earth

Music from Before the Storm Album Art:

Front cover Hi Res Daughter L.McDonagh.jpg

Share Tweet Submit Pin