Alex Cameron Announces New Album and Tour, Releases New Single

Music News Alex Cameron
Share Tweet Submit Pin
Alex Cameron Announces New Album and Tour, Releases New Single

Alex Cameron has just announced his new album, Miami Memory, set for release Sept. 13 on Secretly Canadian. Can’t wait until September? Luckily for you, the Sydney-born indie-pop rocker has also shared a new single, “Divorce,” with an accompanying music video.

With a knack for donning the masks of a wide array of oddball characters in his previous, Cameron finds a new character in Miami Memory—himself.

Facing the threat of a bitter breakup, Cameron sings, “I’ve killed little baby rabbits. I’ve killed microscopic crabs / But I never killed a feeling like the one you and me had.”

Inspired by the empty threats of leaving that lovers make in the heat of a moment, “Divorce” is an impassioned exclamation of misery at the thought of losing a relationship.

In the video, Cameron’s shadowed face calls out from the darkness as a heart necklace drapes over his shoulders. He asks us where his love went because he can’t find it in his hands.

Then, grief turns to frustration as Cameron offers to crash on a friend’s “motherfuckin’ futon couch if that’s how you wanna play it.”

In the end, Cameron finds himself “drinkin’ in the dark” with his battery “all ran out.”

“All you gotta do is say it: Divorce, Divorce, Divorce,” he finishes.

“All you gotta do is say it” and that empty threat becomes a reality.

The single pulls together the threads of long-term commitment and love that snake through the entire LP.

His third album, Miami Memory finally features Cameron, rather than a wacky, made-up character, as its main narrator. The album is a vulnerable, tender and at times lustful love letter to his partner.

“Across the album, Cameron sings with stunning candor of his relationship and transition into familial life,” a press release explains. “Miami Memory is Cameron’s tribute to his romantic union; a common, elemental concept revisited by Cameron with his brand of veracious wittiness and sincerity.”

Strikingly honest about love and sex, Cameron laces the album with a sense of evanescence hanging above the listener’s head.

“When you listen to these songs, and you’re waiting for the twist, or the joke, or any kind of discomfort, I can assure you none of those things were there when I wrote them,” Cameron said in a statement, clearly differentiating this album from his tongue-in-cheek, gleefully uncomfortable work of the past.

Instead of writing the imagined narratives that makes up most of his discography, Cameron turns instead to true stories plucked from his own life in a heartfelt gift to his girlfriend.

“Specific but never esoteric. And graphic but never offensive,” Cameron calls his new LP. “Miami Memory is the story of a couple balancing sex with contemporary family values.”

Miami Memory also promises to be Cameron’s most musically expansive work yet. While pulling in the synth-driven tones of his early work, the new album harnesses the drive of classic rock, with anthemic lyrics layered with warm sax, bass, guitar and organ.

Starting out in the electronic group Seekae, Cameron first split off in 2016 by releasing his debut album Jumping the Shark for free on his website. Cameron took on the persona of a weathered lounge singer full of stories to tell in an LP imbued with synth, drum machine and a deep, stirring melancholy.

Miami Memory is Cameron’s latest since 2017’s Forced Witness, in which the idiosyncratic singer-songwriter embodied a new character for the ‘80s pop-influenced endeavor.

Catchy and creepy, the tracks off Forced Witness paint condemning caricatures of the modern alpha male, shining a harsh, revealing spotlight on the men who aspire to that macho, testosterone-fueled ideal.

But now, Cameron is back with Miami Memory as himself. And he is deeply in love.

Give the song a listen below, and check out the details of Miami Memory and Cameron’s tour dates further down. You can revisit the album’s title track here.

Miami Memory Tracklist:
01. Stepdad
02. Miami Memory
03. Far From Born Again
04. Gaslight
05. Bad For The Boys
06. End is Nigh
07. PC With Me
08. Divorce
09. Other Ladies
10. Too Far

Miami Memory Album Art:


Alex Cameron Tour Dates:

18 – Amsterdam, Netherlands @ Paradiso
19 – Brussels, Belgium @ AB Club
20 – Brighton, U.K. @ The Haunt
21 – Leeds, U.K. @ Brudenell Social Club
22 – Dublin, Ireland @ Button Factory
24 – Bristol, U.K. @ The Fleece
25 – London, U.K. @ Electric Brixton
26 – Manchester, U.K. @ Gorilla
27 – Glasgow, U.K. @ Art School
29 – Southampton, U.K. @ Loft

01 – Lille, France @ Aeronef Club
02 – Paris, France @ Trianon
03 – Reims, France @ La Cartonnerie
04 – Nantes, France @ Lieu Unique
05 – Orléans, France @ Astrolabe
07 – Zurich, Switzerland @ Mascotte
08 – Dudingen, Switzerland @ Bad Bonn
09 – Milan, Italy @ Ohibo
10 – Bologna, Italy @ Covo
12 – Salzburg, Austria @ Rockhouse Birthday Party
13 – Vienna, Austria @ Flex Cafe
14 – Munich, Germany @ Strom
15 – Prague, Czech Republic @ Meet Factory
16 – Berlin, Germany @ Festsaal Kreuzberg
18 – Stockholm, Sweden @ Vasateatern
19 – Oslo, Norway @ Parkteatret
20 – Gothenburg, Sweden @ Pustervik
21 – Copenhagen, Denmark @ Vega
22 – Hamburg, Germany @ Uebel & Gefährlich
23 – Cologne, Germany @ Artheater

01 – Richmond, Va. @ Richmond Music Hall
02 – Asheville, N.C. @ Grey Eagle
05 – Atlanta, Ga. @ Aisle 5
06 – Nashville, Tenn. @ Exit In
07 – St. Louis, Mo. @ Ready Room
08 – Chicago, Ill. @ Thalia Hall
09 – Minneapolis, Minn. @ Fine Line
12 – Bloomington, Ind. @ Bishop Bar
13 – Columbus, Ohio @ A&R Music Bar
14 – Detroit, Mich. @ El Club
15 – Toronto, Ont. @ Phoenix Concert Theatre
16 – Montreal, Que. @ Fairmount
20 – Philadelphia, Pa. @ Johnny Brenda’s
21 – Boston, Mass. @ Sinclair
22 – New York, N.Y. @ Webster Hall
23 – Washington, D.C. @ 9:30 Club

06 – Los Angeles, Calif. @ Troubadour
07 – Phoenix, Ariz. @ Valley Bar
09 – Denver, Colo. @ Bluebird
10 – Salt Lake City, Utah @ Urban Lounge
12 – Portland, Ore. @ Wonder Ballroom
13 – Seattle, Wash. @ Neumos
14 – Vancouver, B.C. @ Hollywood Theatre