Fleet Foxes Share Rarity "Isles" off Forthcoming 10th-Anniversary Collection

The track was previously released as a b-side to "White Winter Hymnal"

Music News Fleet Foxes
Share Tweet Submit Pin
Fleet Foxes Share Rarity "Isles" off Forthcoming 10th-Anniversary Collection

Fleet Foxes have shared “Isles” off their forthcoming special-edition release First Collection 2006 – 2009, out Nov. 9 through Nonesuch and Sub Pop. The record collects the band’s early works, including their debut full-length, the Sun Giant EP, their self-titled EP, and a B-sides and rarities collection. The release will also include a 32-page booklet with show flyers, lyrics and artwork from the period.

“Isles” was originally released as a B-side to the U.K. seven-inch single for “White Winter Hymnal.” It has not been previously released anywhere outside of Europe and the U.K. The song finds Fleet Foxes at their baroque best. It’s the sort of gentle ballad they used to make, a stark folk song that’s remarkably simple compared to the orchestral movements Robin Pecknold and company make nowadays.

First Collection 2006 – 2009 will be available on vinyl, CD and digital platforms. You can preorder the collection here.

Listen to “Isles” and check out the archival trailer for the release below. While you’re at it, check out a 2008 performance of “White Winter Hymnal” from the Paste archives. The full tracklist can be found further down.

First Collection 2006 – 2009 Tracklist:

Fleet Foxes 12”

Side A
1. Sun It Rises
2. White Winter Hymnal
3. Ragged Wood
4. Tiger Mountain Peasant Song
5. Quiet Houses
6. He Doesn’t Know Why
Side B
1. Heard Them Stirring
2. Your Protector
3. Meadlowlarks
4. Blue Ridge Mountains
5. Oliver James

Sun Giant 10”

Side A
1. Sun Giant
2. Drops in the River
3. English House
Side B
1. Mykonos
2. Innocent Son

The Fleet Foxes EP 10”

Side A
1. She Got Dressed
2. In the Hot Hot Rays
3. Anyone Who’s Anyone

Side B
1. Textbook Love
2. So Long to the Headstrong
3. Icicle Tusk

B-Sides & Rarities 10”

Side A
1. False Knight On The Road
2. Silver Dagger
3. White Lace Regretfully
4. Isles

Side B
1. Ragged Wood (transition basement sketch)
2. He Doesn’t Know Why (basement demo)
3. English House (basement demo)
4. Hot Air (basement sketch)

Also in Music