Violent Femmes Announce New Album Hotel Last Resort, Share Title Track

Music News Violent Femmes
Share Tweet Submit Pin
Violent Femmes Announce New Album <i>Hotel Last Resort</i>, Share Title Track

The Violent Femmes have checked in, announcing Tuesday the summer release of their 10th studio album, Hotel Last Resort, out July 26 via PIAS. The folk-punk outfit also shared the album’s first single and title track, a cinematic, western-sounding ballad featuring Tom Verlaine of the band Television.

“One of the greatest thrills of a long recording career is getting Tom Verlaine to play on one of our songs,” Gordon Gano (vocals, guitar) explains. “It’s just amazing to hear that sound.”

The “Blister in the Sun” rockers are looking forward to a new era, one that sees the band exploring both new grounds and familiar territories. Hotel Last Resort will include a cover of Pyx Lax’s “I’m Not Gonna Cry” (translated from Greek by Gano himself), as well as a stripped-down arrangement of Irving Berlin’s “God Bless America.”

“I think it’s probably the best one we’ve made since Hallowed Ground,” says Brian Ritchie (vocals, bass, guitar, percussion). “It’s just a very focused album, the songs all hold together. It’s a classic album, in the sense that people should actually sit down and listen to the whole thing.”

Listen to the new single below, as well as Violent Femmes performing “I’m Nothing” in the Paste Studio back in 2016. Check out the tracklist and album art for Hotel Last Resort and the band’s tour dates further down. The album is available for preorder here.

Hotel Last Resort Album Art:

Violent Femmes Hotel Last Resort album art

Hotel Last Resort Tracklist:
01. Another Chorus
02. I Get What I Want
03. I’m Nothing (Feat. Stefan Janoski)
04. Adam Was A Man
05. Not Ok
06. Hotel Last Resort (Feat. Tom Verlaine)
07. Everlasting You
08. It’s All Or Nothing
09. I’m Not Gonna Cry
10. This Free Ride
11. Paris To Sleep
12. Sleepin’ At The Meetin’
13. God Bless America