Dean III & Coin

Life After Liberty... (and the pursuit of happiness)

Life After Liberty... (and the pursuit of happiness) by Dean III & Coin
Share Tweet Submit Pin
For fans of:Wilco, Neil Young, Matthew Sweet, The Raconteurs, The Replacements
Tip the Artist $6 Suggested Tip
  1. 45
  2. Disposable Thumb
  3. Dirt
  4. (This is) Not Your Song
  5. Life Is / What Is
  6. Red, White & Blue
  7. My Prayer
  8. Spank Me
  9. Home
  10. Life After Liberty

An edgy, ambitious, defiant, catchy, indie, DIY, alternative, insurgent Americana song-cycle from a late '90s three-piece rock band whose mission was to destroy the souls of those who say "meh".


Dean Goldstein III, Scott Gillis and Dan Gannon made up the core of Dean III & Coin from 1997-2000. Based on the band’s first two years of writing, playing shows and building an audience, the album "Life After Liberty... (and the pursuit of happiness)" was recorded in 1999-2000 using a basement home studio in Aurora IL and mixed and mastered in two days at Alien Soundscapes in Chicago. While the band shopped the album around to multiple agents, managers and labels in Chicago and LA, it received some interest but not enough for a label or distribution deal and ultimately was never released. The band was rather disappointed with this outcome, and the core lineup changed when Dan left in late 2000. Multiple incarnations of the band continued playing shows and recording, but those tracks never saw the light of day either. Eventually, the band split for good.

The core lineup stayed in touch, however. After Dean released his next project "Dirty Souls" in 2013, Scott was asked to back his band on drums. Dean also produced Dan Gannon's first album and single "There's Yer Ghost" in 2014 (both released in 2016); on which Scott played drums. More recently, the three agreed that with today's technology and ability to release albums cheaply and independently, there is no reason why such a great album as "Life After" shouldn't be made available to the world. With a minty fresh remastering by Dom at Dominick Maita Mastering LLC; updated artwork (the original featured a man hanging from a noose off the Statue of Liberty... go figure); and a streamlined track sequence, Dean III & Coin is ready to share this long lost album. Set the volume on “destroy”; we’ll handle the rest. Enjoy!

Track List:

01 45

02 Disposable Thumb

03 Dirt

04 (This is) Not Your Song (Goldstein)

05 Life Is / What Is (Goldstein/Morgan)

06 Red, White & Blue

07 My Prayer

08 Spank Me

09 Home

10 Life After Liberty

Dean III & Coin is/was: Dean Goldstein III - guitar, vocals, keys, feedback, everything else not played by the others

Scott Gillis - drums, percussion, smokes

Dan Gannon - bass, bass EBow, crap-ass mandolin, backup vocals, lead vocal on “Home”

Charles “Chuck” Mattis - additional lead and wah guitar on “Spank Me"

Produced by Dean III

Engineered by Dean III

Mixed by Dean III & Coin with Collin Jordan at Alien Soundscapes Inc., Chicago IL

Mastered by Collin Jordan at Alien Soundscapes Inc., Chicago IL

Re-mastered in 2017 by Dominick Maita at Dominick Maita Mastering LLC, Boulder CO

All songs written by Goldstein/Gannon/Gillis, except where noted.

Copyright 2013, 2017 COINED TUNES (ASCAP)

SpaceWank Records Catalog Number SWR317

For fans of:Wilco, Neil Young, Matthew Sweet, The Raconteurs, The Replacements
About NoiseTrade

NoiseTrade is a user-generated platform where fans can trade their email addresses for free music and books. All content is provided by users and does not indicate an endorsement from the Paste editorial staff. Create an artist or author account from a desktop or laptop to upload your own content and connect to new fans today.