Reveal [Noisetrade Sampler]

Reveal [Noisetrade Sampler] by Elskavon
Share Tweet Submit Pin
For fans of:Riceboy Sleeps, Sigur Ros, Helios, Jonsi, Eluvium
Tip the Artist $4 Suggested Tip
  1. Imprints
  2. Letting Go
  3. Wishes
Tip the Artist $4 Suggested Tip

Reveal is the third album from Elskavon, the ambient project of Minneapolis composer Chris Bartels. It is also the second installment of a double album, the follow-up to 2013's Release.

The contrast and growth of the sound from Release to Reveal is certainly intentional. This is the first Elskavon album that introduces drums and percussion, and touches on a more ethereal post-rock style, while still behind an ambient wash.

Most of the Elskavon albums are written and recorded by Chris alone in the studio, but he sought out some collaboration this time around. Bjorn Nilsen, good friend and Bora York bandmate of Chris', recorded acoustic drums for "Imprints," "Letting Go" and "April Rain."

Another aspect of collaboration, the album artwork was again a photo by Anton Novoselov. Anton's photos have been used for both Release and Reveal, and the transition from night to day in these photos coincides with the musical style progression.

While Chris finds inspiration for these songs from many aspects and facets of life, the root love of making music for him comes down to one question. Are you alive?

Are you living each day alive, free, passionate? Enjoying the passing moments while also living in anticipation for something greater? Are you living for something greater than yourself?

Are you living each day in an identity that gives you life or an identity that tears you down?

Important questions. Not always easy questions to ask ourselves. But important.

Creating is obviously a part of Chris' identity, and obviously part of what makes him alive. His hope is that the music is an inspiration to anyone who hears it. Don't waste time. Live for something greater than yourself. Find your real identity, one that brings you life.

Release your imagination. So it can Reveal your identity.


Full album available at elskavon.bandcamp.com


Copyright 2014 Chris Bartels.

All songs written and produced by Chris Bartels.

Drums by Bjorn Nilsen. All other instruments by Chris Bartels.

Letting Go and April Rain mixed by Taylor Lewin.

Cover photo by Anton Novoselov.

Released by Anthem Falls Music.

For licensing, publicity, and booking inquiries, email chris@anthemfallsmusic.com



Full album download on Bandcamp includes two bonus songs.... elskavon.bandcamp.com/album/reveal

For fans of:Riceboy Sleeps, Sigur Ros, Helios, Jonsi, Eluvium
About NoiseTrade

NoiseTrade is a user-generated platform where fans can trade their email addresses for free music and books. All content is provided by users and does not indicate an endorsement from the Paste editorial staff. Create an artist or author account from a desktop or laptop to upload your own content and connect to new fans today.