London Down/The Raging Marys

Strange Places Unknown (1987-Remastered)

Strange Places Unknown (1987-Remastered) by London Down/The Raging Marys
Share Tweet Submit Pin
For fans of:Gaslight Anthem, Social Distortion, R.E.M., The Replacements
Tip the Artist $3 Suggested Tip
  1. Forgotten (Remastered)
  2. Chucky (Remastered)
  3. St. Peter's Calling Me (Remastered)
  4. Psycho (Remastered)
  5. If I Ran The Circus (Remastered)
  6. Possession Obsession (Remastered)
  7. Tomorrow and Today (Remastered)
  8. You've Been Gone (Remastered)
  9. Love On The Horizon (Remastered)

London Down formed in 1985 and became part of the emerging college rock scene in San Jose, Calif. They released the album "Strange Places Unknown" on vinyl in 1987 (the album was remastered in 2018). College radio stations throughout the West Coast added the indie album to their regular rotations, and the . The band even made it into the top 10 in France.

Critics also took notice, including BAM, POW Magazine and, most notably, Cashbox: “West Coast radio has been on this quartet for a while, and now their folky strains are captured on vinyl. In spots, most notably ‘Forgotten’ and ‘St. Peter’s Calling Me,’ London Down recalls Wire Train, with flashes of major label vitality.” (Cashbox)

The band reformed in 2018 and released the 13-track indie album "Gnashville" on Dec. 7, 2018.


Recorded in 1987 by Hector Toro at Astral Sounds in San Jose, Calif. Produced by Hector Toro and London Down. Remastered by Bill Hare (2018). Design and photography by Dave Lepori.

Phil Benjamin -- Lead Guitar, Vocals

Chris Carbone - Bass, Vocals

Ken Hartsoe - Drums, Vocals

Steve Hartsoe - Guitar, Lead Vocals

For fans of:Gaslight Anthem, Social Distortion, R.E.M., The Replacements
About NoiseTrade

NoiseTrade is a user-generated platform where fans can trade their email addresses for free music and books. All content is provided by users and does not indicate an endorsement from the Paste editorial staff. Create an artist or author account from a desktop or laptop to upload your own content and connect to new fans today.