A Day With The Homies EP: Panda Bear’s Forthcoming, Vinyl-Only Release

Music News Panda Bear
A Day With The Homies EP: Panda Bear’s Forthcoming, Vinyl-Only Release

Today, Panda Bear (aka Noah Lennox) announced that he’s releasing a new EP titled A Day With The Homies, out Jan. 12 on Domino. He’s been teasing material from it on his Twitter page for a while now, and fans should celebrate the chance to see some of the lyrics on the page that aren’t absorbed by the “deeper zones of the frequency spectrum.” It’s a simple title, but Lennox has many more eloquent words on the album’s structural and thematic worth:

It’s been my perception that these things tend to homogenize experience so I hope you’ll forgive me if I don’t outline, in any specific way, the many choices involved in its creation. I appreciate your role as filter or translator, and by withholding my own blueprints for the album, I mean to encourage and cultivate your part in its trip.

The songs aren’t lyrically linear or narrative as such, though I did scatter pieces of longer-chewed themes across the tracks. I find they still work satisfactorily alone, but strengthen each other’s messages when combined.

I hoped to make something without frills or much embellishment, principally because I’ve found more fluff tends to equal less power. Since the juiciest action is entirely focused in the deeper zones of the frequency spectrum (at least from where I’ve sat), power was key.

It’s not often anymore I find something specific to my life that feels worthwhile setting to song for others to consume. It’s a tough sell convincing myself that my own troubles warrant as much attention as those we all share. The strokes of the messages themselves are broad enough, then, that I think anybody can find a familiar face, if they care to look.

The lion’s share of the noise is centered, or nearly, so both speakers get a taste. This is another nod towards power, but it also means HOMIES doesn’t work in the same way through headphones as it does out in the air.

My greatest hope with this stuff is for it to live like my favorite songs do, which is to say like comforts or companions. Thank you very much for listening and I hope A Day With The Homies can mean something to you.

A Day With The Homies will only be available on 12” vinyl—simple for some, less so for others. You can preorder the album here, and see the artwork and tracklist below. While you’re at it, take a trip through the time warp and check out our review of Panda Bear’s 2011 breakthrough Tomboy.

A Day With The Homies Tracklist:
01. Flight
02. Part Of The Math
03. Shepard Tone
04. Nod To The Folks
05. Sunset

A Day With The Homies Album Art:

A Day With The Homies Art.jpg

Share Tweet Submit Pin