Derek Webb


Feedback by Derek Webb
Share Tweet Submit Pin
For fans of:Bon Iver, Wilco, Elliott Smith, Bob Dylan, Sufjan Stevens
Tip the Artist $6 Suggested Tip
  1. Our Father In Heaven
  2. Hallowed Is Your Name
  3. Your Kingdome Come
  4. Your Will Be Done On Earth As In Heaven
  5. Give Us This Day Our Daily Bread
  6. Forgive Us Out Debts As We Forgive Our Debtors
  7. Lead Us Not Into Temptation But Deliver Us From Evil
  8. For Thine Is_ A) The Kingdom B) The Power C) The Glory Forever And Ever
  9. Amen

Staying true to his reputation as a Christian music maverick, singer/songwriter Derek Webb follows up his lyrically controversial Stockhom Syndrome with an all-instrumental worship project. Feedback offers a (nearly) wordless song-cycle inspired by the Lord’s Prayer, embroidering ambient electronic sounds and folk/rock guitar touches upon melodies often reminiscent of ‘60-era European film soundtracks. Co-written by Webb and wife Sandra McCracken, these compositions shift from moody industrial pieces (“Our Father In Heaven”) to billowing waltzes (“Forgive Us Our Debts…”) and somber, classical-tinged themes (“Lead Us Not Into Temptation…”) The densely layered suite “For Thine Is” builds from a fractured hip-hop groove into a sparkling synth-dominated soundscape that calls out to the faithful to praise and celebrate. The album concludes with the short but uplifting choral number “Amen.” In both the album’s conception and realization, Webb shows real creative nerve by foregoing his strengths as a lyricist and avoiding typical worship music forms. -iTunes

For fans of:Bon Iver, Wilco, Elliott Smith, Bob Dylan, Sufjan Stevens
About NoiseTrade

NoiseTrade is a user-generated platform where fans can trade their email addresses for free music and books. All content is provided by users and does not indicate an endorsement from the Paste editorial staff. Create an artist or author account from a desktop or laptop to upload your own content and connect to new fans today.