G.T. Moore

G.T. Moore And The Reggae Guitars

G.T. Moore And The Reggae Guitars by G.T. Moore
Share Tweet Submit Pin
For fans of:Lee 'Scracth' Perry, Midnite, Zap Pow
Tip the Artist $6 Suggested Tip
  1. Painted Ladies
  2. Book Of Rules
  3. I'm Still Waiting
  4. Bye And Bye
  5. Way Over There
  6. Move It On Up
  7. Thou Shall Not Kill
  8. Bad Johnny
  9. Knocking On Heaven's Door

In retrospective it was often said at the time that G.T. Moore and The Reggae Guitars never really had the right producer to recreate their live sound on record. This album was produced by Dave Bloxham who had produced their favorite record of that time, ‘Funky Kingston’(by Toots and the Maytalls). The brass players, the Sons of the Jungle, who Gerald knew from Johnny Nash, are featured on the album as well as on ‘Funky Kingston’. As is John ‘Rabbit’ Bundrick. However it’s fair tot say that the first album is the closest to their live sound. It contains the popular tunes from their live performances which were ‘Knocking On Heaven’s Door’, ‘Move It On Up’ and ‘Thou Shall Not Kill’. The original tracks were recorded in a provincial studio working on the South coast. But the final overdubs and mixes were done at Island, Basing Street, Notting Hill Gate. It just so happened that The Wailers were recording their on the night session and Rabbit played at nigh with The Wailers and in the day with The Reggae Guitars. The sessions were mixed by Tony Platt, also the engineer of Catch A Fire. It was a unique time and The Wailers loved the idea off a band called the Reggae Guitars.

  • Backing Vocals, Percussion – Tom Robinson, Tony Hannaford
  • Bass Guitar – Tom Whyte
  • Engineer [Recording And Mixing] – Tony Platt
  • Guitar [Reggae, Slide] – Martin Hayward
  • Organ, Electric Piano – Tim Jones (10)
  • Piano [Acoustic] – John "Rabbit Bundrick
  • Producer – Dave Bloxham
  • Saxophone [Baritone] – Peter Van Der Puij
  • Saxophone [Tenor, Alto] – George Larnyoh
  • Trumpet, Trumpet [Flugal] – Eddie Quansah
  • Vocals, Electric Guitar [Lead], Rhythm Guitar, Mandolin – G.T. Moore
For fans of:Lee 'Scracth' Perry, Midnite, Zap Pow
About NoiseTrade

NoiseTrade is a user-generated platform where fans can trade their email addresses for free music and books. All content is provided by users and does not indicate an endorsement from the Paste editorial staff. Create an artist or author account from a desktop or laptop to upload your own content and connect to new fans today.