Dr. Octagon Announce First LP With Original Lineup in 20+ Years

Music News Dr. Octagon
Dr. Octagon Announce First LP With Original Lineup in 20+ Years

The surgeon is back, here to slice you with some sick rhymes in the newly released lyric video to “Octagon Octagon,” the first single from their forthcoming LP—the band’s first with their original lineup in over 20 years.

Here’s a quick history lesson for those who don’t know: Dr. Octagon is a persona created by American rapper Keith Mathew Thorton, better known as Kool Keith, back in the late ‘90s. The character first debuted on the artist’s 1996 solo album Dr. Octagonecologyst as an interstellar time-traveling surgeon and orthopedic gynecologist from the planet Jupiter. Dr. Octagonecologyst was produced by Dan “The Automator” Nakamura and turntablist DJ Qbert. The three then came together to form the group behind this out-of-the-box persona.

In one of the most elaborate storylines in concept rap, Dr. Octagon was murdered by Dr. Dooom to begin Kool Keith’s 1999 album First Come, First Served. The character was shortly revived in 2003 with The Return of Dr. Octagon, in what was supposed to be the sequel to Dr. Octagonecologyst. However, Keith had a falling-out with his at-the-time recording company CMH Records and gave them outdated recordings of himself goofing off in order to get out of his contract. What resulted from this was a label misrepresentation of what the storyline was supposed to be. Fans were highly disappointed the label had gone on to promote The Return of Dr. Octagon without Keith’s support or creative direction. Then in 2008, Dr. Octagon’s persona was laid to rest once more in Dr. Dooom 2, the follow-up to First Come, First Served.

Now, Kool Keith, along with the original Dr. Octagon developers, Dan The Automator and DJ Qbert, will resurrect the character for the group’s true sequel to Dr. Octagonecologyst, titled Moosebumps: an exploration into modern day horripilation. The LP debuts April 6 on Dan The Automator’s own label, Bulk Recordings, and will be distributed by Caroline. The album is said to be the realization of the Automator’s full sonic vision.

Backed by turntablist DJ Qbert, Keith lays down stream-of-consciousness lines that vividly entail Dr. Octagon’s surgical and sexual exploits. As you may know, the doctor offers a variety of services to the community, such as chimpanzee acne treatment, moosebumps treatment and rectal rebuilding surgeries. Per a press release, Moosebumps was largely recorded during a 24-hour session at the Automator’s studio. The album retains the “aural ethos” of the persona’s debut album while adding new melodies and layers to the Dr. Octagon universe, done so in songs like “Area 54.”

Now on their home turf, the group feels in control of their music and the direction their character will go: “It was very pure. We did everything on our own and made the record the way we wanted to make it,” the Automator explains in a statement. “There was no label telling us what to do.”

Rapping alongside Keith on this LP will be Del the Funky Homosapien, who will be featured as a character in the song “3030 Meets The Doc Pt.1.” The forthcoming concept album promises to be the illustrious continuation of the time-traveling doctor that fans have long been waiting for. With the character and fan base having been cemented, the group looks to not only make a strong return, but also make a way to reach new heights. “Dr. Octagon is not a contemporary thing or a retro thing,” the Automator says. “It’s always looked to the future.”

Listen to “Octagon Octagon,” the first single by the Dr. Octagon trio in 22 years, below, and preorder Moosebumps: an exploration into modern day horripilation before its April 6 release through the Automator’s label right here. True fans of the group will be excited to know that the official artist store will be carrying a special limited-edition version of the double LP, with only 1,000 copies printed worldwide on blood-splattered vinyl, plus alternate album art.

Below the “Octagon Octagon” lyric video, you will find the Moosebumps album cover and tracklist, and Dr. Octagon’s tour slate.

Moosebumps: an exploration into modern day horripilation Album Art:


Moosebumps: an exploration into modern day horripilation Tracklist:
01. Octagon Octagon
02. Polka Dots
03. Black Hole Son
04. Power Of The World
05. Operation Zero
06. Bear Witness IV
07. Area 54 (IG2)
08. Flying Waterbed (IG4)
09. 3030 Meets The Doc Pt.1
10. Karma Sutra
11. Hollywood Tailswinging

Dr. Octagon Tour Dates:


18 – San Francisco, Calif. @ The Fillmore
19 – Los Angeles, Calif. @ The Belasco

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Share Tweet Submit Pin