King Krule Announces New Album Man Alive!, Shares New Music Video and Tour Dates

Music News King Krule
King Krule Announces New Album Man Alive!, Shares New Music Video and Tour Dates

The third studio album from British lo-fi songwriter Archie Ivan Marshall, better known by his stage name King Krule, is set for release by True Panther/Matador Records on Feb. 21.

Titled Man Alive!, the album is a meditation on slacker ennui, which consumed Marshall in the wake of creating the album.

“There really is nothing else to do here, especially when it turns to winter,” said Marshall in a statement. “Everyone I know has jobs, whereas I’d sit on my arse all day sometimes not doing anything, then I’d go to the pub with them when they finished work. It became a bit habitual.”

Along with announcing the album, Marshall has also released a self-directed music video for the track “(Don’t Let The Dragon) Draag On.” It’s lushly cinematic, seemingly an homage to the Carl Theodore Dreyer film The Passion of Joan of Arc, with a black-and-white continuous shot of Marshall being burned at the stake.

But many of the album’s themes involving directionless-ness and monotony are no longer lived realities for Marshall. Last March, the 25-year-old officially became a father with the birth of his daughter, Marina.

“I feel better in life. I don’t drink or smoke when I’m in the North West, so I’m pretty clean,” said Marshall. “It’s made me kind of bored of what a lot of the album’s talking about! It’s hard to know where it’s going now I’ve done it, and what I’ll do next, because of my new-found role and responsibility in the world. It’ll be good to play live, I’m looking forward to that.”

You can check out the new music video and upcoming tour dates for King Krule below, along with the details of Man Alive!

Man Alive! Tracklist:
01. Cellular
02. Supermarché
03. Stoned Again
04. Comet Face
05. The Dream
06. Perfecto Miserable
07. Alone, Omen 3
08. Slinky
09. Airport Antenatal Airplane
10. (Don’t Let The Dragon) Draag On
11. Theme For The Cross
12. Underclass
13. Energy Fleets
14. Please Complete Thee

Man Alive! Album Art:


King Krule Tour Dates:

03 – Brussels, Belgium @ A.B
04 – Paris, France @ L’Olympia
05 – Amsterdam, Netherlands @ Melkweg
07 – Copenhagen, Denmark @ K.B Hall
08 – Berlin, Germany @ Columbiahalle
19 – Dublin, Ireland @ Olympia
21 – Glasgow, Scotland @ Barrowland
22 – Manchester, U.K. @ Albert Hall
24 – London, U.K. @ O2 Academy Brixton
25 – London, U.K. @ O2 Academy Brixton

02 – Dallas, Texas @ House of Blues
03 – Houston, Texas @ White Oak Music Hall
04 – Austin, Texas @ Stubbs Waller Creek
07 – Los Angeles, Calif. @ Hollywood Palladium
08 – Oakland, Calif. @ Fox Theatre
10 – Seattle, Wash. @ Showbox Sodo
11 – Portland, Ore. @ Roseland Theatre
14 – Minneapolis, Minn. @ First Avenue
15 – Chicago, Ill. @ Riviera Theatre
17 – Toronto, Ont. @ Queen Elizabeth Theatre
18 – Montreal, Que. @ Mtelus
19 – Boston, Mass. @ House of Blues
21 – Philadelphia, Pa. @ Union Transfer
22 – Washington, D.C. @ 9:30 Club
24 – Brooklyn, N.Y. @ Kings Theatre

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Share Tweet Submit Pin