Bohemian Rhapsody Soundtrack to Feature Four Previously Unreleased Queen Recordings

The soundtrack, produced by Brian May and Roger Taylor, is set for an Oct. 19 release

Music News Queen
Bohemian Rhapsody Soundtrack to Feature Four Previously Unreleased Queen Recordings

Those waiting with bated breath for the premiere of forthcoming Queen biopic Bohemian Rhapsody have something else to look forward to as of Wednesday, with the unveiling—perfectly timed with what would have been Freddie Mercury’s 72nd birthday—of the film’s original soundtrack.

The soundtrack, produced by Queen members Brian May and Roger Taylor, is set for release on Oct. 19 on Hollywood Records. The team behind the soundtrack said in a statement that they intended to create an album that stands “on its own merits,” living alongside key moments of the film rather than just existing as a “greatest hits playlist package,” and one look at the 22-track lineup suggests the album has potential to live up to this standard.

Audio from career-spanning live performances was tapped for use in the film, from “Fat Bottomed Girls” recorded at the band’s 1979 shows in Paris to the version of “Love of My Life,” the duet between Mercury and May, recorded at Rock in Rio in 1985. Some of the Queen classics were re-created for the film, such as one of the two occurrences of “We Will Rock You” that begins as the studio version many are familiar with before transitioning into one of the band’s many live performances of the hit. Further Smile, Queen’s predecessor band before Mercury joined the mix, reunited for the occasion and re-recorded “Doing All Right” for the film’s use.

However, most exciting is the inclusion of four recordings from Queen’s legendary 1985 performance at Live Aid. Audio recordings from the show have never been released prior, and the performances of “Bohemian Rhapsody,” “Radio Ga Ga,” “Hammer to Fall” and “We Are The Champions” will be available in this format to Queen fans for the first time.

The soundtrack is set for release just weeks before the film, which opens on Nov. 2. Anticipation for the film has grown since its announcement due to its unprecedented look behind the scenes of the band, its music and its ever-enigmatic frontman Mercury, to be played by Rami Malek.

Below, watch the film’s latest trailer, listen to a ‘77 Queen performance from the Paste archives, and check out the Bohemian Rhapsody soundtrack’s album art and tracklist. You can preorder the soundtrack here.

Bohemian Rhapsody (The Original Soundtrack) Album Art:


Bohemian Rhapsody (The Original Soundtrack) Tracklist:
01. 20th Century Fox Theme
02. Somebody To Love
03. Doing All Right… revisited (Performed by Smile) 
04. Keep Yourself Alive (Live At The Rainbow)
05. Killer Queen
06. Fat Bottomed Girls (Live In Paris)
07. Bohemian Rhapsody
08. Now I’m Here (Live At Hammersmith Odeon)
09. Crazy Little Thing Called Love
10. Love Of My Life (Rock In Rio)
11. We Will Rock You (Movie Mix) 
12. Another One Bites The Dust
13. I Want To Break Free
14. Under Pressure (Performed by Queen & David Bowie) 
15. Who Wants To Live Forever
16. Bohemian Rhapsody (Live Aid)
17. Radio Ga Ga (Live Aid)
18. Ay-Oh (Live Aid)
19. Hammer To Fall (Live Aid)
20. We Are The Champions (Live Aid)
21. Don’t Stop Me Now… revisited 
22. The Show Must Go On

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Share Tweet Submit Pin