Ben Thomas

Bring Forth

Bring Forth by Ben Thomas
Share Tweet Submit Pin
For fans of:Sufjan Stevens, Iron and Wine, David Bazan, Fleet Foxes, Bon Iver
Tip the Artist $5 Suggested Tip
  1. Again, the Lord
  2. Creator God, Creating Still
  3. I'm Gonna Live
  4. Tell Me the Old, Old Story
  5. I Sing the Goodness
  6. Lord of All Being
  7. Peace, Troubled Soul
  8. Take My Life
  9. O Love Will Hold Me
  10. Give Peace Again
  11. Bring Forth
  12. Little Kingdom
  13. Splendor

"BRING FORTH" is a collection of songs by Ben, inspired by a handful of hymn lyrics dating from the 4th century to the 20th century, all seeking to find the Divine in the everyday elements of our existence... life, death, creation, re-creaton, dawn, day, dusk.

In a 5-of-5-star review of the album, Louder than the Music writes, "This isn't a guy who has stolen all the best hymns and 're-done them'. Ben has taken these hymns, and not the obvious ones either, taken the heart of the songs and flipped it upside down, turned it inside out, added a cool indie feel to them, sprinkled a massive dollop of creativity, and turned the song around again whilst still keeping the hear of the original hymn, without it sounding like the original song (does that make sense?). Only a true musical genius can pull off an album like this, and Ben Thomas has made something really special here."


All music written by Ben Thomas, except track 7 & 10 - written by Ben Thomas and Andrew Schroeder. Lyrics by: Anna Letitia Barbauld (track 1), Jane Parker Huber & Ben Thomas (track 2), Traditional African American Spiritual (track 3), A. Katherine Hankey & Ben Thomas (track 4), Isaac Watts (track 5), Oliver W. Holmes, Sr. & Ben Thomas (track 6), Frances R. Havergal (track 7), Sam­u­el Eck­ing (track 8), Henry W. Baker & Ben Thomas (track 9), George Ma­the­son, Ben Thomas & Andrew Schroeder (track 10), John E. Bode & Ben Thomas (track 11), Louisa M. Al­cott (track 12), Am­brose of Mi­lan & Ben Thomas (track 13). Primary musical contributors: Ben Thomas, Andrew Schroeder, Andrew Vogt. Additional musical contributions by Cory Andersen, Courtney Grote, David Yeager, Jen Showalter, Jess Sinnot, Mandy Hughes, Ninfa Lear, Priscilla Dean, Stephanie Ho and the Kickstarter Backer Handclap Choir. Recorded at Kiwi Audio in Batavia, IL and a little bit in Ben's living room in Naperville, IL. Engineered by Brad Showalter. Additional engineering by Ben Thomas and Glen West. Mixed by Shane D. Wilson at St. Izzy's of the East Nashville, TN. Assisted by Aaron Chafin. Mix Coordination by Lani Crump for Showdown Productions. Mastered by Doug Van Sloun at Focus Mastering in Omaha, NE Album Art by Stephen Signa-Aviles. Executive vision team: Scott Hodge, Larry Boatright and Adam Mock.----- Special thanks to my beautiful, creative and infinitely supportive wife, Joy and my daughters that surprise and inspire me every day - Lucy and Elliana. Thank you to the incredible supporters who made this project a reality on Kickstarter - If you didn't exist, neither would this record. Thank you to my dear friends and teammates at The Orchard - getting to do what I love with people I love is a joy and privilege of a lifetime… your support an encouragement brought these songs to life. Copyright 2015 Joyful Rice Recordings

For fans of:Sufjan Stevens, Iron and Wine, David Bazan, Fleet Foxes, Bon Iver
About NoiseTrade

NoiseTrade is a user-generated platform where fans can trade their email addresses for free music and books. All content is provided by users and does not indicate an endorsement from the Paste editorial staff. Create an artist or author account from a desktop or laptop to upload your own content and connect to new fans today.