John Ludi

Hell's Laughter and Heaven's Ache

Hell's Laughter and Heaven's Ache by John Ludi
Share Tweet Submit Pin
For fans of:David Bowie, Kate Bush, Peter Gabriel, Bruce Cockburn, Midnight Oil
Tip the Artist $6 Suggested Tip
  1. HLHA-01-All Dead Dictators
  2. HLHA-02-Progress
  3. HLHA-03-Cycles
  4. HLHA-04-The Complacent Song
  5. HLHA-05-Dysfunctional
  6. HLHA-06-Secret Serenade
  7. HLHA-07-Hell's Laughter and Heaven's Ache
  8. HLHA-08-Song of Set
  9. HLHA-09-The Clear Light of Day
  10. HLHA-10-A Late Night Argument With God
  11. HLHA-11-Kali Yuga
  12. HLHA-12-Hamtramck
Tip the Artist $6 Suggested Tip

This was the first album I released under the name John Ludi...and the last one I recorded on the trusty Fostex 8 track reel to reel I had used for about a half dozen projects. The sound is that of late period Goth, even though the song structures didn't really fit in that genre. I was dressing the part at the time. The obvious drum machine and the reverb dumped all over everything give it a rather dated feel, but I think the songwriting redeems it...hopefully. My songwriting had reached a level of maturity that quite frankly surprised even myself at times. While still being concerned with the trials and tribulations of the big scary world out there and the human condition in general, I finally was able to write in an introspective manner that did not scream out angst and slogans. I decided to add some quad-compression, EQ and Limiting to these tunes to bring out a bit of stuff buried under the murk and give it a bit more punch. I can't imagine this album appealing to a huge amount of people, but it did get a decent amount of positive press and airplay back when I put it out.


Basically another project that I did all by myself from start to finish with the notable exception of harmony and background vocals (and a 2nd acoustic guitar on The Complacent Song) by a Minnesota singer/songwriter named Jodi Jarchow.

For fans of:David Bowie, Kate Bush, Peter Gabriel, Bruce Cockburn, Midnight Oil
About NoiseTrade

NoiseTrade is a user-generated platform where fans can trade their email addresses for free music and books. All content is provided by users and does not indicate an endorsement from the Paste editorial staff. Create an artist or author account from a desktop or laptop to upload your own content and connect to new fans today.