Mae Klingler

The Mighty Small

The Mighty Small by Mae Klingler
Share Tweet Submit Pin
For fans of:Katie Herzig, Ingrid Michaelson, Regina Spektor, Feist, Yael Naim
Tip the Artist $6 Suggested Tip
  1. Wrecking Ball
  2. Ghost
  3. Pansy
  4. I Don't Miss You At All
  5. Adventurers We

The Mighty Small is Mae’s first full-length record, featuring 11 original songs. Though it defies straight genre categorization, Mae likes to call it adventure folk.

Co-produced with Josh Seurkamp (Over the Rhine, Kim Taylor, Ellery) and Greg LaFollette (Katie Herzig, Matthew Perryman Jones, Waterdeep, Trouvere), the album’s players include Jordan Brooke Hamlin (Katie Herzig, Indigo Girls, Sandra McCracken, Lucy Wainwright Roche), Justin Golden (Ellery), and Andrea VonAllmen (Artists and Authors) and was recorded/produced at Crossroads Studio (Cincinnati, OH) and Gingerwood Studio (Nashville, TN).

The name The Mighty Small was born in the recording studio. Mae explains, “While making this record, we kept reminding ourselves that we wanted it to be ‘surprising and delightful’. We found ourselves drawn to lots and lots of simple parts—melodies and parts that seemed small and simple on their own, but together, they made this lush landscape of sound in some songs, an emotional hurricane in others and just plain fun in the rest. The songs may be made up of small things, but enough small things make something mighty. I think there’s truth in that on many levels.”

She continued, “In general, I find the mightiest things, movements and people don’t usually start out that way. As a kid, I remember playing with my mom’s charm bracelet. My favorite piece was a small clear charm that held one single mustard seed. She used to tell me that mustard trees grow to be some of the biggest around; I spent lots of time trying to figure out how something so big could come from something so small. I suppose this record is me still trying to figure that out.”


JOSH SEURKAMP - drums and percussion, vibraphone, stomps, claps, pots and pans, tympani, programming, glockenspiel, bells, castanets, courage for days

GREG LAFOLLETTE - electric guitars, bass, programming, synth, vocals, morning poetry

CRAIG DOCKERY - piano, organ, accordion, mellotron

JORDAN BROOKE HAMLIN - trumpet, clarinet, French horn


ANDREA SUMMER - background vocals and other magic

MAE KLINGLER - vocals, acoustic guitar, ukulele, toy piano, percussion, omnichord, kalimba, piano, glockenspiel, vibraphone SPECIAL THANKS TO - Paul Lawson, Lance Martin, Justin Golden and the gospel choir


Recorded at Crossroads, Cincinnati and Gingerwood Studios, Nashville

Mixed by Greg LaFollette

Mastered by Chris Graham Mastering

Design by Grace Saunders

Photography by Jonathan Robert Willis

All songs written by Mae Klingler (Shake A Leg Record Company/ASCAP)

For fans of:Katie Herzig, Ingrid Michaelson, Regina Spektor, Feist, Yael Naim
About NoiseTrade

NoiseTrade is a user-generated platform where fans can trade their email addresses for free music and books. All content is provided by users and does not indicate an endorsement from the Paste editorial staff. Create an artist or author account from a desktop or laptop to upload your own content and connect to new fans today.