Daily Dose: The Orielles, “Come Down on Jupiter”

Music Features The Orielles
Daily Dose: The Orielles, “Come Down on Jupiter”

Daily Dose is your daily source for the song you absolutely, positively need to hear every day. Curated by the Paste Music Team.

English psych-rockers The Orielles have released “Come Down on Jupiter,” the lead single from their sophomore album, Disco Volador. The group weave in different musical phases across their new song like space travelers exploring uncharted galaxies, carrying an air of sonic curiosity throughout.

“Come Down On Jupiter” opens with a chugging 6/8 rhythm that pushes the track into its first movement—a mysterious jazz swirl that falls beneath singer Esmé Dee Hand-Halford’s subdued vocals. “The moment’s an impression” she sings with a mystical delivery. The track gains some momentum with an energetic chorus and then speeds ahead into a jam led by a grooving bass line. The constantly shifting track ends up sitting between the progressive ‘90s recordings of Stereolab and more contemporary jam groups like King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard.

The song’s accompanying video—directed by Rose Hendry—places the band in a banal breakfast diner setting where each member slowly learns they can control the events that occur around them. As Hand-Halford dumps a shaker of salt onto the table and begins running her finger through the mound, she watches the clock speed up, then stop completely. With a well-crafted concept centering around a spilling cup of tea, the video approaches subtle psychedelia without the need for neon colors to get its effect.

Disco Volador can be expected to further venture through grooving atmospheres like its lead single. Hand-Halford explains the strange title of their forthcoming album as a term open to anyone’s interpretation:

Its literal interpretation from Spanish means flying disc but everyone experiences things differently. Disco Volador could be a frisbee, a UFO, an alien nightclub or how you feel when you fly; what happens to your body physically or that euphoric buzz from a great party. But it is an album of escape; if I went to space, I might not come back.

Disco Volador is out Feb. 28, 2020, on Heavenly Recordings and available for preorder here. You can watch the video for “Come Down On Jupiter” below and find album details further down.

Disco Volador Album Art:


Disco Volador Tracklist:
01. Come Down On Jupiter
02. Rapid i
03. Memoirs Of Miso
04. Bobbi’s Second World
05. Whilst The Flowers Look
06. The Square Eyed Pack
07. 7th Dynamic Goo
08. A Material Mistake
09. Euro Borealis
10. Space Samba (Disco Volador Theme)

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Share Tweet Submit Pin