Disq Announce Debut Album Collector, Share Lead Single “Daily Routine”

Music News Disq
Disq Announce Debut Album Collector, Share Lead Single “Daily Routine”

Madison, Wisc. band Disq have shared the details of their debut album Collector, out on March 6 via Saddle Creek. Paste caught their impressive set at SXSW last year and later met up with them for an introducing interview. Paste also named Disq one of the 20 Best New Artists of 2019. Today (Jan. 8), they’ve also shared the album’s lead single “Daily Routine” with an episodic music video. The album was produced by Rob Schnapf (Beck, Elliott Smith, Kurt Vile) and features material “from each of the five members’ demo piles over the years.”

“Daily Routine” is their first new music since their 2018 single “Communication,” backed with “Parallel.” The track is a searing power-pop cut with a healthy dose of gnarled guitars. It’s the perfect fusion of their pop sensibilities and punchy live shows. It’s also packed with the kind of youthful angst and much-needed antics that characterize the current millennial experience. Lead singer Isaac deBroux-Slone shares his worries about “wasting time,” “daily needs,” “computer screens,” and the kind of insecurities that plague most of us: “I’m in prison but I think this place was built by me.”

“‘Daily Routine’ is a song about an intense personal struggle,” deBroux-Slone explains. “In dark times, life can feel like a cycle that I’m trapped in—repeating over and over with no means of escape. It’s easy to fall into a void, thinking that everybody else has it all figured out, while losing sight of the fact that many others feel exactly the same way. The tongue-in-cheek lyrics are a coping mechanism for me as sometimes being able to laugh at my own situation is the only thing that can make me feel better. Sonically the song ended up a loose template for the sound of many other songs on the album; expressing feelings simply through loud guitars.”

After opening for the likes of Shame, Girlpool and Jay Som, Disq are also embarking on a North American tour in April following their second appearance at SXSW in March. You can view their full tour schedule below.

Watch “Daily Routine” below. You can preorder Collector here, and scroll down to view their debut album details.

Disq Tour Dates:

14 – London, U.K. @ The Lexington (Five Day Forecast)
15 – London, U.K. @ The Old Blue Last *

16-22 – Austin, Texas @ SXSW

03 – Iowa City, Iowa @ Mission Creek Festival
04 – Chicago, Ill. @ Schubas ^
06 – Detroit, Mich. @ PJ’s Lager House ^
07 – Toronto, Ontario @ The Drake ^
09 – Boston, Mass. @ Great Scott ^
10 – New York, N.Y. @ Rough Trade ^
11 – Philadelphia, Pa. @ Boot & Saddle ^
12 – Washington, D.C. @ Songbyrd ^
14 – Nashville, Tenn. @ High Watt
15 – Kansas City, Mo. @ Uptown Theater
17 – Denver, Colo. @ Larimer Lounge
18 – Salt Lake City, Utah @ Kilby Court
20 – San Diego, Calif. @ Soda Bar ~
21 – Los Angeles, Calif. @ The Echo ~
22 – San Francisco, Calif. @ Cafe du Nord ~
24 – Seattle, Wash. @ Barboza ~
25 – Portland, Ore. @ Doug Fir ~
28 – Minneapolis, Minn. @ 7th St Entry

01 – Madison, Wis. @ High Noon Saloon

(* w/ The Districts)
(^ w/ Pom Pom Squad)
(~ w/ Girl Friday)

Collector Album Artwork:


Collector Tracklist:

01. Daily Routine
02. Konichiwa Internet
03. I’m Really Trying
04. D19
05. Loneliness
06. Fun Song 4
07. Gentle
08. Trash
09. I Wanna Die
10. Drum In

Share Tweet Submit Pin