Celebrate 30 Years of Hangin’ Tough With This New Kids On The Block Concert from 1990

Music Features New Kids On The Block
Celebrate 30 Years of Hangin’ Tough With This New Kids On The Block Concert from 1990

No matter your opinion of New Kids On The Block, there’s no denying their omnipresence in the early 1990s—and, arguably, beyond. The group of Boston friends-turned-superstars—Jordan Knight, his brother Jonathan Knight, Danny Wood, Joey McIntyre and Donnie Wahlberg (yes, brother of that Mark Wahlberg)—ushered in a new age of the boy band craze, setting the stage for sugar-pop descendants like NSYNC, the Backstreet Boys and even One Direction.

Like those who came before and after them, New Kids On The Block weren’t just a boy band—they were a cultural phenomenon. If you were a teenaged fan in 1991, chances are you owned a NKOTB t-shirt, lunchbox, jacket or all of the above. It all started with their breakout album, Hangin’ Tough, which was released in September 1988 and went on to achieve platinum status a whopping eight times. To commemorate the record’s 30th anniversary, the band are dropping a special reissue featuring three new tracks, including their new single “Boys In The Band (Boy Band Anthem).” Hangin’ Tough (30th Anniversary Edition) is out now digitally and on CD, collectible 2LP picture disc vinyl and cassette.

We’re also taking a stroll down memory lane and sharing an entire NKOTB concert from November 1990 at the Target Center in Minneapolis, which you can hear below via the Paste vault—if you can tune out the sound wall of screaming fans, who somehow keep it up for the entirety of these 90 minutes. Listen to the guys play hits like “You Got It (The Right Stuff)” and “Step By Step.”

NKOTB are also kicking off a 2019 tour in May with fellow ‘90s familiars Salt-N-Pepa, Naughty By Nature, Debbie Gibson and Tiffany. Find all the dates here.

Again, you can hear the entire NKOTB concert from 1990 below. Further down, watch the music video for their new single “Boys In The Band (Boy Band Anthem).” You can purchase the 30th anniversary edition of Hangin’ Tough right here. Keep scrolling for its tracklist and album art.

Hangin’ Tough (30th Anniversary Edition) Album Art:


Hangin’ Tough (30th Anniversary Edition) Tracklist:

1. You Got It (The Right Stuff)
2. Please Don’t Go Girl
3. I’ll Be Loving You (Forever)
4. Cover Girl
5. I Need You
6. Hangin’ Tough
7. I Remember When
8. What’Cha Gonna Do (About It)
9. My Favorite Girl
10. Hold On
11. Please Don’t Go Girl (Extended Version)
12. You Got It (The Right Stuff) – 7” Version
13. I’ll Be Loving You Forever – 7” Remix
14. Hangin’ Tough (TOUGHER MIX) – previously unreleased in the U.S.
15. Cover Girl – 7” Remix – previously unreleased in the U.S.
16. 80s Baby (ft. Salt-N-Pepa, Naughty By Nature, Tiffany, Debbie Gibson)
17. Boys In The Band (Boy Band Anthem)
18. The Way You Should Be Loved

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Share Tweet Submit Pin