The Rolling Stones in Mono Box Set Collection Compiles Stones’ 1960s Mono Recordings

Music News The Rolling Stones
Share Tweet Submit Pin

For the first time ever, a historic Rolling Stones box set, containing all mono studio recordings released by the band throughout the ‘60s, will become available through ABKCO Records on Sept. 30. The box set will be released in both vinyl and CD formats, as well as Standard Digital, Mastered for iTunes and True HD, featuring a total of 186 tracks. Over 50 of these have never been released in mono since their initial recording. Both box sets are available for pre-order on the ABKCO website.

The vinyl set comprises 16 LPs while the CD collection contains 15 CDs, both housing an exclusive compilation of mono recordings from 14 different albums on top of a number of single and EP tracks from the ‘60s. The box set covers much of the work from the Stones’ formative years from 1963 to 1969, and true to the standards of the era, reveals the powerful, intimate, no-frills quality of mono recording. Though perhaps less sophisticated and polished than the stereo recording that became popular during the digital age, the raw sound of these early recordings takes fans into the studio with the Stones as they were in the very beginning.

The vinyl and CD box sets both come with a four-color deluxe 48-page book that features numerous rare photos of the band by renowned photographer Terry O’Neill. The 16 LPs or 15 CDs come encased in original full-color album jackets that fit along with the book into a one-piece specially crafted box. Comments from the senior editor of Rolling Stone, David Fricke, are featured within the book. He writes, “Rollings Stones in Mono is the full studio account of that first decade of history and mayhem, newly remastered with unprecedented fidelity and revelatory detail.”

Place your pre-orders for vinyl here and CD here, and check out the full listing of featured albums below.

The Rolling Stones In Mono Collection Listing:

1) The Rolling Stones (UK, 1964)
2) 12 X 5 (1964)
3) The Rolling Stones No. 2 (UK, 1965)
4) The Rolling Stones Now! (1965)
5) Out of Our Heads (US, 1965)
6) Out of Our Heads (UK, 1965)
7) December’s Children (And Everybody’s) (1965)
8) Aftermath (UK, 1966)
9) Aftermath (US, 1966)
10) Between the Buttons (UK, 1967)
11) Flowers (1967)
12) Their Satanic Majesties Request (1967)
13) Beggar’s Banquet (1968)
14) Let it Bleed (1969)
15) Stray Cats (a new collection of single A & B sides plus E.P. tracks)