Son of Laughter

Voting Day (Single)

Voting Day (Single) by Son of Laughter
Share Tweet Submit Pin
For fans of:Andrew Peterson, Paul Simon, Josh Ritter, Ben Shive, Josh Garrels
Tip the Artist $5 Suggested Tip
  1. Voting Day

"Voting Day" is the first single from the upcoming full length album No Story is Over by Son of Laughter, due to release March 2017.

Son of Laughter, the music of singer/songwriter Chris Slaten, offers a whimsical and melodic blend of finger-style guitar and lyrical storytelling. He released a 5-song EP, "The Mantis and the Moon" (5/5 stars - CCM magazine), in June of 2013 with producer Ben Shive (Colony House, Andrew Peterson, Bebo Norman). It is available on The Rabbit Room, iTunes, and Amazon.

"Little Sheep," an independently released single, is also available for free download at

Slaten is currently booking house shows across the country to raise funds for a full-length record. Visit his website,, for more details.

Praise for The Mantis and the Moon:

"With intriguing acoustic instrumentation, dreamy storybook lyrics, and poignant takeaways, Mantis may be the most effective Nashville singer-songwriter EP in years." CCM Magazine, September 2013

"In this day and age, it’s a nice feeling to be able to see the heart in a project. Truly get behind it without qualms, with a belief that the artist’s aim is true. Kind of like finding a modest, dust covered book in the library shelf only to open up a world of hidden treasure. " Holly Etchison, The Blue Indian

"Fascinating music, songs, production." Andrew Peterson, Songwriter/Author

"A truly superb example of musical storytelling, The Mantis and the Moon is full of solid songwriting and lilting melodies to delight the listener throughout the entire project"(34). Shawn McClaughlin, Christian Musician Magazine


Written and Performed by Chris Slaten

Produced by Stephen Nichols

Vocals: Satoya Foster and Michael Smith

Choir: Stacie Siira, Esther Ellis, Kelly Lee, Michael Smith, Chris Slaten, Steven Ham

Keys: Carl Cadwell

Synth: Stephen Nichols

Bass and Saxophone: Randy Cantrell

Drums: Josh Green

Trumpet: David Henry

Guitars and Vibraphone: Chris Slaten

Art: Jamin Still Text: John Hendrix

Mastered by Rodney Mills All tracks recorded at As Elyzum studio with Stephen Nichols Acoustic guitars recorded at the Beehive with Ben Shive

For fans of:Andrew Peterson, Paul Simon, Josh Ritter, Ben Shive, Josh Garrels
About NoiseTrade

NoiseTrade is a user-generated platform where fans can trade their email addresses for free music and books. All content is provided by users and does not indicate an endorsement from the Paste editorial staff. Create an artist or author account from a desktop or laptop to upload your own content and connect to new fans today.