Perjuvian by Melocotón
Share Tweet Submit Pin
JazzLatin Jazz
For fans of:Manante, Medeski Martin & Wood, Marc Ribot, The Bad Plus, Irakere
Tip the Artist $7 Suggested Tip
  1. Blue Shoes
  2. That's What
  3. E10P
  4. Suzanne Samba
  5. Stoney Maloney
  6. Whatevs
  7. Planatos Fritos
  8. Pigs Eat Pearls
  9. Paranoid Android
  10. Perjuvian
Melocotón's debut release, "Perjuvian", was recorded at the end of 2010 at Cleveland's Elevation Recording Studio. Producer/guitarist Jacob Fader handled the controls at the sessions, and the album was mastered by renowned engineer Tommy Wiggins. In an effort to stay true to their live performance chemistry and the classic feel of 20th century jazz records, the tracks you hear here are predominantly unaltered takes, recorded to magnetic tape through analog consoles, amps and effects, and mixed down to two-track with sparing use of digital post-processing or editing. The lead-off track, "Blue Shoes", is a John Galvez composition that typifies their sound, melding a driving funk beat with his latin guitar feel, while Dan Kamionkowski's "That's What" takes a more direct jazz tack, while playfully quoting Miles Davis and Prokofiev. Galvez's "E10P" is an upbeat guitar swing with a rockabilly overtone, showcasing the guitarist's versatility and imaginative writing style. His double-stop melody spins a take familiar to the young and old souls, as Rothman switches from sticks to brushes to move the rhythm. Although John's "Suzanne Samba" (named for his wife) is one of the oldest and most straight-ahead cuts on the disc, the trio roars quickly back into the land of funk with "Stoney Maloney", a collaborative composition which features Dan's work at the Wurlitzer and a retro-soul vibe from John's guitar. On "Whatevs", Kamionkowski's bouncy reggae-like 6/8 cut, he augments his Rhodes piano with a vintage analog synthesizer, but the group returns to the Latin feel with "Platanos Fritos" (fried bananas). This cut is John's twist on the standard montuno pattern, including a tip of the hat to Henry Mancini's 1963 song 'Charade'. His "Pigs Eat Pearls" follows that traditional vibe with a somewhat dark, low-key samba. The sole 'cover' on the album, Melocotón puts its unique coat of paint on Radiohead's 1997 rock song "Paranoid Android". The original song was melded from three different songs by different members of Radiohead, and this version remains true to the original's general form, bouncing between 4/4 and 7/8 times, and sliding between bossa, rock and reggae. The album wraps with the title track, "Perjuvian", John's rock-infused samba.
JazzLatin Jazz
For fans of:Manante, Medeski Martin & Wood, Marc Ribot, The Bad Plus, Irakere
About NoiseTrade

NoiseTrade is a user-generated platform where fans can trade their email addresses for free music and books. All content is provided by users and does not indicate an endorsement from the Paste editorial staff. Create an artist or author account from a desktop or laptop to upload your own content and connect to new fans today.