The Hello Strangers

The Hello Strangers

The Hello Strangers by The Hello Strangers
Share Tweet Submit Pin
For fans of:Kathleen Edwards, Lucinda Williams, Ryan Adams, Johnny Cash, Emmylou Harris
Tip the Artist $6 Suggested Tip
  1. Runaway
  2. What It Takes To Break A Heart
  3. What You Don't Know (feat. Jim Lauderdale)
  4. Never Roam Again
  5. Ruined
  6. Chances
  7. Conococheague
  8. Holy Unholy
  9. Caribou
  10. Poor Dear
  11. The World Knows Far Better Than Me
  12. Oh He'll Drown
  13. Que Sera, Sera

From the hills of Pennsylvania comes a debut self-titled album from The Hello Strangers, a sister-fronted (Larissa Chace Smith and Brechyn Chace) Americana duo, whose haunting harmonies and witty, noir songwriting are the backbone of their sound. Produced by award-winning Nashville producer Steve Ivey, the album features 11 originals and 2 covers, and features Jim Lauderdale on vocals, and “Que Sera, Sera,” a tribute to the sisters’ Grandfather, who sang with Doris Day.

"The Hello Strangers don’t need classifications. They are just – for lack of a more sophisticated term – “Damn Good." - Chuck Dauphin, Music News Nashville/Billboard

"The Hello Strangers demonstrate the kind of credence that only happens when worldly experience is paired with shattered sentiment. These two ladies certainly stand out on their own. Country credence is assured, and with it, a very promising future indeed." - Lee Zimmerman, No Depression


Featuring: Brechyn Chace - lead and backup vocals, accordion on “Poor Dear,” vibraslap on “Conococheague,” harmonica on “The World Knows Far Better” Larissa Chace Smith - lead and backup vocals, acoustic guitar Spencer Pheil - electric guitar Steve Ivey - electric guitar, keyboards, piano, percussion, bass guitar, dobro, bouzouki, mandolin, back up vocals Kerry Marx - electric guitars Tommy Harden - drums and percussion Eddie Dunlap - pedal steel Wanda Vick - viola Catherine Marx - keyboards & accordion Cissy Crutcher - background vocal on “What You Don't Know” Jim Lauderdale - lead and background vocal on "What You Don't Know" Bar Background vocals - Ethan Nichols, Cody Blonder, Dave Dinsmore, Sparky Jones Mixing keygrip - Sparky Jones

Produced and mixed by Steve Ivey Recorded at IMI studio (the Sound Kitchen) Franklin, TN IMI Studio 615-255-0105 Spencer Pheil’s parts recorded at Stable Studio, Chambersburg, PA Mastered by Luke Gilfeather at The Mastering Studio, Nashville, TN

c 2014 IMI Music and The Hello Strangers, except for "What You Don't Know" and "Que Sera, Sera" p 2014 IMI Music and The Hello Strangers

All rights reserved; unlawful duplication is prohibited For more information contact For booking contact Sycamore Artist Management, Visit us at and Photography by Ryan Smith Photography Design by Carl Nielson For song lyrics please visit us at

All songs written by Larissa Chace Smith and Brechyn Chace, The Hello Strangers Publishing (SESAC), except for “What You Don’t Know” by Jim Lauderdale and John Leventhal; and “Que Sera, Sera” by Jay Livingston and Ray Evans.

For fans of:Kathleen Edwards, Lucinda Williams, Ryan Adams, Johnny Cash, Emmylou Harris
About NoiseTrade

NoiseTrade is a user-generated platform where fans can trade their email addresses for free music and books. All content is provided by users and does not indicate an endorsement from the Paste editorial staff. Create an artist or author account from a desktop or laptop to upload your own content and connect to new fans today.