Treehouse Sanctum

Pilot & Crew

Pilot & Crew by Treehouse Sanctum
Share Tweet Submit Pin
AlternativeFolk Rock
For fans of:The Oh Hello's, Lake Street Dive, Needtobreathe, The Lumineers, Of Monsters & Men
Tip the Artist $1 Suggested Tip
  1. Pilot & Crew

Pilot & Crew

On June 26, 1944, just weeks after D-Day, Lt. D. M. Rymer and his crew of nine airmen climbed into a B-24 Liberator named, Buffalo Gal, and took off on a bombing run from southern Italy, toward German occupied Austria. Somewhere over the target his plane lost engines 3 & 4, after being drilled with an 88mm round from German Luftwaffe fighters. As he struggled for control and fell out of formation he ordered the bombardier to drop the payload while the gunners dispatched one of the German fighters.

Unable to keep Buffalo Gal aloft, Lt. Rymer ordered all men to bail. As the pilot, he was the last to jump out of the failing bomber. He leaped, pulled the ripcord and crash landed seconds later, onto a pile of firewood next to a barn. 8 of the 10 crew survived the jump. Lt. Rymer was beaten by a local farmer whose house had been damaged by the failed aircraft. The local gestapo arrested him and handed him over to the Nazis who then took him to Sagan, Poland as a P.O.W. where he stayed in Stalag Luft III, the same camp depicted in the movie, the Great Escape. As the Russians advanced across the Eastern Front, he and his fellow captives were forced to march through the bitter winter toward Germany. The P.O.W's endured cold and hunger but held their resolve, thanks in part to the few Red Cross rations the Germans allowed them to keep. Lt. Rymer was liberated from Stalag Luft VII-A, north of Munich, by U.S. Armed Forces on April 29, 1945. He captured the 10 months of hunger and hardship as a P.O.W. in a diary of sorts, written on toilet paper & scraps of paper, which he kept hidden in his shoe.

The word epic means heroic poem. This brief epic is not only for them, but for all who have served and sacrificed for freedom.

  • Sam Rymer - lead vocals, acoustic guitars, cajon, tambourine, shaker, co-production
  • Dave Villano - violin, banjo, mandolin, co-production
  • Danya Lynn Prado - backing vocals
  • Jon Boland - bass
  • Andrew Horwath - drums
  • Jeremy Gleason - lead guitar
  • Dewayne Rymer - Trumpet
  • Christopher J. Bloom - Mastering
  • Written by: Sam Rymer
  • Graphic Design: Jeremy Gleason
AlternativeFolk Rock
For fans of:The Oh Hello's, Lake Street Dive, Needtobreathe, The Lumineers, Of Monsters & Men
About NoiseTrade

NoiseTrade is a user-generated platform where fans can trade their email addresses for free music and books. All content is provided by users and does not indicate an endorsement from the Paste editorial staff. Create an artist or author account from a desktop or laptop to upload your own content and connect to new fans today.