Julia Bloom

A Human Called Woman

A Human Called Woman by Julia Bloom
Share Tweet Submit Pin
For fans of:Hem, Karen Carpenter, Brandi Carlile, Sarah McLachlan, Joni Mitchell
Tip the Artist $4 Suggested Tip
  1. Daughter Of God (You Understand)
  2. Daughter Of Eve
  3. Eve Of The Fall
  4. These Dry Bones
  5. Daughter Of Abraham
  6. Let Me
  7. Woman
Tip the Artist $4 Suggested Tip

Originally released in 2005, Julia Bloom's first solo album, seven songs reflecting on being female and faithful. The title was inspired by Dorothy Sayers' book, "Are Women Human?"

*Trigger Warning* and a note on Track 3, "Eve of the Fall": This song recounts a brutal story of rape and violence taken straight from the Bible (Judges 19), and several listeners have commented that this is not an easy track to listen to. Additionally, the crowd of men described in the story are called "wicked vile men" in the song by the narrator. In my personal view, these men were wicked and vile not for their apparently gay or bisexual orientation, but for their cruelty and complete disregard for human life. (And they are not the only guilty men in the story - every man in this story either attacks or neglects the two women in the story.)


All songs written and performed by Julia Bloom, with Nathan Bloom on drums, percussion and "that one bgv." Recorded and produced by Nathan and Julia Bloom in the Laundry Room. Mastered by Keith Nystrom. Artwork by Micah Bloom.

For fans of:Hem, Karen Carpenter, Brandi Carlile, Sarah McLachlan, Joni Mitchell
About NoiseTrade

NoiseTrade is a user-generated platform where fans can trade their email addresses for free music and books. All content is provided by users and does not indicate an endorsement from the Paste editorial staff. Create an artist or author account from a desktop or laptop to upload your own content and connect to new fans today.