Chrissie Hynde Releases New Single, “Que reste-t-il de nos amours?”

Her new album Valve Bone Woe is out Sept. 6

Music News Chrissie Hynde
Chrissie Hynde Releases New Single, “Que reste-t-il de nos amours?”

Chrissie Hynde released a new single sung entirely in French on Wednesday, “Que reste-t-il de nos amours?” It’s the final track on her forthcoming solo album, Valve Bone Woe, which she recorded with The Valve Bone Woe ensemble in London.

Hynde’s single is a new take on Charles Trenet’s 1942 original song of the same name. It translates to “What remains of our love?,” and puts Hynde’s soft, dynamic and versatile vocals on full display.

Regarding her forthcoming album, out September 6 via BMG, Hynde said in a statement:

A few years back when I saw an obit in the paper for the valve-trombonist, Bob Brookmeyer, I mailed my jazz sax-playing brother, saying ‘R. I. P. Bob Brookmeyer.’ Terry, a man of few words, responded with ‘Valve Bone Woe,’ a kind of Haiku beatnik prose.

I thought that was a perfect title for the album I’d been working on with producer Marius de Vries. After we’d recorded ‘I Wish You Love’ for the Eye Of The Beholder soundtrack I’d often expressed a desire to do more along those lines. What eventually emerged was the idea to do what we refer to as our Jazz/Dub album, the one you’re now holding in your hand.

I’m not hugely interested in branching out into other musical genres, being a devout rock singer as such, but jazz is something I grew up around (thanks to my bro) and I’ve always had a soft spot for it. I often bemoan what I regard as a decline in melody in popular music and I wanted to sing melodies. Plus, I have a penchant for cover songs, it’s the surprise of singing something that I didn’t think of writing myself that turns me on.

Jazz got side-lined by Rock & Roll in the 60’s, but now the demise of rock seems to be heralding in a newfound interest in it, the most creative and innovative musical forms of the 20th century. I’m happy to jump on the bandwagon.

Valve Bone Woe will feature Hynde’s covers of artists including Brian Wilson, Frank Sinatra, Charles Mingus, Hoagy Carmichael, John Coltrane, Nick Drake, Ray Davies, and Rodgers and Hammerstein.

The Pretenders frontwoman will perform tracks from the album with the LA Philharmonic Orchestra at the Hollywood Bowl live in Los Angeles on Saturday, July 6.

Hynde will also perform as part of the BBC’s Proms In The Park in Hyde Park on Sept. 14. She will later lend her vocals to the 2019 London Jazz Festival, and her set will take place on Nov. 24 at the Royal Festival Hall.

Listen to Hynde’s new single below, plus a 1981 Pretenders performance from the Paste archives, and find her album art and tracklist further down.

Valve Bone Woe Album Art:


Valve Bone Woe Tracklist:
01. How Glad I Am [Jimmy Williams, Larry Harrison]
02. Caroline, No [Tony Asher, Brian Wilson]
03. I’m a Fool to Want You [Frank Sinatra, Joel Herron, Jack Wolf]
04. I Get Along Without You Very Well (Except Sometimes) [Hoagy Carmichael]
05. Meditation on a Pair of Wire Cutters [Charles Mingus]
06. Once I Loved [Norman Gimbel, Vinicius De Moraes, Antonio Jobim]
07. Wild Is the Wind [Ned Washington, Dimitri Tiomkin]
08. You Don’t Know What Love Is [Don Raye, Gene De Paul]
09. River Man [Nick Drake]
10. Absent Minded Me [Jule Styne, Bob Merrill]
11. Naima [John Coltrane]
12. Hello, Young Lovers [Richard Rogers, Oscar Hammerstein II]
13. No Return [Ray Davies]
14. Que Reste-t-il de nos Amours? [Charles Trenet]

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Share Tweet Submit Pin