Rhino Announces New Otis Redding Vinyl Box

Six-LP set includes all four of Redding’s posthumous albums and a double-disc set of singles in mono

Music News Otis Redding
Rhino Announces New Otis Redding Vinyl Box

It’s quite staggering to think that Otis Redding’s signature song, “(Sittin’ On) The Dock of the Bay” was released after the late soul/R&B giant’s untimely death—less than a month, as a matter of fact, after Redding and most of the Bar-Kays perished in a plane crash en route to a gig. “(Sittin’ On) The Dock of the Bay,” of course, was a smash hit, Redding’s only song to top the Billboard Top 100 and the first posthumous number-one single in U.S. chart history. But there was more in the pipeline—a lot more, as it turned out.

Only 26 when he died, Redding (AKA The King of Soul) had already left an indelible stamp on music as the author of iconic songs like “Respect” (later made even more immortal by Aretha Franklin) and “I’ve Been Loving You Too Long.” Fortunately, his legacy kept gaining steam on account of the fact that he’d recorded enough for four more albums, all released posthumously. All four titles—The Dock of the Bay, The Immortal Otis Redding, Love Man and Tell The Truth—are included in this set, which also features a 2-LP gatefold compilation of 24 of Redding’s singles in mono (arguably the ideal format for music from the period).

It’s hard to imagine, but Redding’s entire body of studio recordings were made in just a five-year period (often with the hallowed Stax house band Booker-T. and the MG’s backing him). Unlike so many other cases of spotty albums thrown together after an artist passes, the music covered in this set represents a crucial chunk of Redding’s legacy.

In a limited run of 1,000 copies, the set comes in both colored and standard black vinyl editions.

Otis Forever: The Albums & Singles 1968-1970 Artwork:

Otis Forever: The Albums & Singles 1968-1970 Tracklist:

The Dock of the Bay (1968)

Side One

1. “(Sittin’ On) The Dock Of The Bay”
2. “I Love You More Than Words Can Say”
3. “Let Me Come On Home”
4. “Open The Door”
5. “Don’t Mess With Cupid”

Side Two

1. “The Glory Of Love”
2. “I’m Coming Home”
3. “Tramp” – Otis Redding & Carla Thomas
4. “The Huckle-Buck”
5. “Nobody Knows You (When You’re Down And Out)”
6. “Ole Man Trouble”

The Immortal Otis Redding (1968)

Side One

1. “I’ve Got Dreams To Remember”
2. “You Made A Man Out Of Me”
3. “Nobody’s Fault But Mine”
4. “Hard To Handle”
5. “Thousand Miles Away”
6. “The Happy Song (Dum-Dum-De-De-De-Dum-Dum)”

Side Two

1. “Think About It”
2. “A Waste Of Time”
3. “Champagne And Wine”
4. “Fool For You”
5. “Amen”

Love Man (1969)

Side One

1. “I’m A Changed Man”
2. “(Your Love Has Lifted Me) Higher And Higher”
3. “That’s A Good Idea”
4. “I’ll Let Nothing Separate Us”
5. “Direct Me”
6. “Love Man”

Side Two

1. “Groovin’ Time”
2. “Your Feeling Is Mine”
3. “Got To Get Myself Together”
4. “Free Me”
5. “A Lover’s Question”
6. “Look At That Girl”

Tell The Truth (1970)

Side One

1. “Demonstration”
2. “Tell The Truth”
3. “Out Of Sight”
4. “Give Away None Of My Love”
5. “Wholesale Love”
6. “I Got The Will”

Side Two

1. “Johnny’s Heartbreak”
2. “Snatch A Little Piece”
3. “Slippin’ And Slidin’”
4. “The Match Game”
5. “A Little Time”
6. “Swingin’ On A String”

The Singles: 1968-1970

Side One

1. “(Sittin’ On) The Dock Of The Bay”
2. “Sweet Lorene”
3. “The Happy Song (Dum-Dum)”
4. “Open The Door”
5. “Hard To Handle”
6. “Amen”

Side Two

1. “I’ve Got Dreams To Remember”
2. “Nobody’s Fault But Mine”
3. “White Christmas”
4. “Merry Christmas, Baby”
5. “Papa’s Got A Brand New Bag”
6. “Direct Me”

Side Three

1. “A Lover’s Question”
2. “You Made A Man Out Of Me”
3. “Love Man”
4. “Can’t Turn You Loose”
5. “Free Me”
6. “(Your Love Has Lifted Me) Higher & Higher”

Side Four

1. “Look At That Girl”
2. “That’s A Good Idea”
3. “Demonstration”
4. “Johnny’s Heartbreak”
5. “Give Away None Of My Love”
6. “Snatch A Little Piece”

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Share Tweet Submit Pin